How to Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Windows 10


In Windows 10, you can choose how much information you want to share with Microsoft by changing your privacy settings.

With Microsoft's continuing commitment to your privacy with Windows 10, it's important to make sure your privacy settings are also ready. If you’re updating your device to a new Windows 10 version, you may be prompted to review or choose your privacy settings after the update when you sign in with an administrator account.

Starting with Windows 10 version 1809, when signing in to a new user account for the first time or after an upgrade (ex: new build or version of Windows 10), that user will be presented with a screen that prompts the user to review or choose privacy settings for their account. This is called the privacy settings experience.

Users will always be able to change their privacy settings at anytime in Windows 10.

While the privacy settings experience is helpful to make sure users review their privacy settings in case they may have been reset after an update, you may find it annoying and want to disable the privacy settings experience.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable launching the privacy settings experience at sign-in for all users in Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to enable or disable launching the privacy settings experience at sign-in.


 CONTENTS:

  • Option One: Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Local Group Policy Editor
  • Option Two: Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in using a REG file


EXAMPLE: Privacy settings experience at sign-in
Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Windows 10-privacy_settings-1.jpg Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Windows 10-privacy_settings-2.jpg






OPTION ONE

Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Local Group Policy Editor



The Local Group Policy Editor is only available in the Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise, and Education editions.

All editions can use Option Two.

1. Open the Local Group Policy Editor.

2. In the left pane of Local Group Policy Editor, navigate to the location below. (see screenshot below)

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\OOBE

Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Windows 10-privacy_settings_experience_on_user_logon_gpedit-1.jpg

3. In the right pane of OOBE, double click/tap on the Don't launch privacy settings experience on user logon policy to edit it. (see screenshot above)

4. Do step 5 (enable) or step 6 (disable) below for what you would like to do.


 5. To Enable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in

A) Select (dot) either Not Configured or Disabled, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7 below. (see screenshot below)

Not Configured is the default setting.


 6. To Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in

A) Select (dot) Enabled, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7 below. (see screenshot below)

Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in in Windows 10-privacy_settings_experience_on_user_logon_gpedit-2.png

7. When finished, you can close Local Group Policy Editor if you like.






OPTION TWO

Enable or Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in using a REG file



The downloadable .reg files below will add and modify the DWORD value in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\OOBE

DisablePrivacyExperience DWORD

(delete) = Enable
1 = Disable



1. Do step 2 (enable) or step 3 (disable) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Enable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in

This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Enable_Privacy_settings_experience_on_user_logon.reg

Download


 3. To Disable Privacy Settings Experience at Sign-in

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Disable_Privacy_settings_experience_on_user_logon.reg

Download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn