Outlook 2016 doesn't recognize RECURRING reminders only.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

1. mlg
    Win 10 Prof

Outlook 2016 doesn't recognize RECURRING reminders only.

Windows 10 version 22H2 (OS Build 19045.2364
    Outlook 2016 MSO (Version 2211 Build 16.0.15831.20098) 32-bit

I gradually noticed I was receiving some reminders and not others. Then I noticed the Reminder Window wasn't popping up and I'd missed several reminders. All my reminders are entered into the Outlook Calendar as appointments. I have reminders set to activate four days before the event. I've been running this setup for a few years with no serious problems.

I made sure reminders were enabled, I checked the reminder settings in the registry, made sure the data files were pointing correctly etc. No luck and nothing weird that I could find. Finally I found a consistent pattern:

If I enter an appointment as a one time event - AND I do not open the Recurrence sub-window, all is well. The appt. shows up with the bell symbol and within a second or two the Reminder Windows pops up over part of the calendar, rings the bell and shows the appt. I just entered. But if I enter a recurrence by date, by number of events or until a certain date in the future, the reminder symbol and the recurrence symbol are entered onto the calendar, but no bell and no entry to the Reminders Window is made. This happens even if I open the Recurrence sub-window and close it again without making an entry.

The only thing I remember that happened recently is that Samsung Magician notified me every time I booted up (which is not that often), that it was unable to run Rapid Mode. I found an update, uninstalled the old version and installed the updated one. Problem fixed. I checked the temps and SMART reports which were fine. My Outlook data files, .pst, run on a Seagate hard drive but it hasn't shown any problems. There may also have been a Windows 10 update which seemed to run smoothly.