MS Outlook 2016 Pro Plus not set as default email app

1. Posts : 5
    Windows 11

I would be grateful for anyone who can help me with a niggling problem with Outlook 2016 running on Windows 11 V.21H (upto date) - both softwares are properly licensed etc.
    Problem: Until recently I could click File Explorer and be able to MailTo (send) a document to a recipient and Outlook could do this automatically no problem. Now I get a message that states 'there is either there is no default email program or the program cannot deal with this request'. I have ensured that Outlook is the default app for email processes but this does not cure the problem. I have carried out a local repair but again no difference.
    In desperation I downloaded eM Client and this deals with the MailTo request without a problem.
    I am not a techie by any means so I would be grateful for any tips/guidance.
    Peter Brooke
      My Computer

2. Posts : 17,034
    Windows 10 Home x64 Version 22H2 Build 19045.4170

pbrooke56 said:
    I have carried out a local repair
    Peter,

Do you mean you did a Windows repair or an Office repair?
    Repair Install - TenForumsTutorials
    Repair an Office application - MSSupport
    I'd expect the Office repair to be the appropriate one judging by your success with eMClient.

Denis
      My Computer

3. Posts : 5
    Windows 11

It was a local repair of Office 2016...
    Peter
      My Computer

4. Posts : 829
    Windows 10 Pro

Have you visited Settings > Apps >Default apps
      My Computer

5. Posts : 5
    Windows 11

Hi thanks for reply- yes I have set Outlook as default on all of its file types: eml etc. Makes no difference unfortunately...
    Peter
      My Computer

6. Posts : 17,034

Peter,

I wonder if the problem would go away if you uninstalled eMClient so forcing Windows to adjust itself again and hopefully overwrite whatever the cause of the problem was.