Should settings revert to default after a Windows Update....

  1. smartcooky's Avatar
    Posts : 123
    Windows 10 Home 32 bit
       #1

    Should settings revert to default after a Windows Update....


    ... and if so, is there any way to prevent this happening ?

    I have 7 "control" computers & photo kiosks, plus 4 workstations all open networked together (password protected sharing is turned off) with network drives and shared folders all over the place. The "control" computers (DCM, RIP, PCC and the Kiosks) all run turnkey proprietary software. With previous versions of windows that I have used (2000, XP & Seven) settings never changed after an update, but after Win10 updates, I am finding every computer has its network settings reset to "password protected sharing turned on". When this happens, the DCM wont talk to the Kiosks, or the PCC, RIP, and Lab workstations (which also won't talk to each other). While the Lab computers can simply have their settings changed on the fly, I have to disable the turnkey systems by removing their hardlock keys so that the software doesn't start, then change the network settings then shut it down and reinsert the hardlock key and repeat the procedure for all the Kiosks and control computers before rebooting the entire system. It takes about about 60-90 minutes to get up and running after a Win 10 update.

    Is there any thing I can to do stop this from happening?

    NOTE:
    DCM = Digital Control Module, a server for the Kiosks
    PCC = Printer Control Computer
    RIP = Raw Image Processor, a computer that runs a commercial photo printer
      My Computers

  2. Berton's Avatar
    Posts : 10,698
    Win10 Pro Versions 2004 and 2009/20H2, Win10 Pro IP_Dev, Win10 Home 1909
       #2

    Yes, frequently Upgrades changes customized things versus most updates that I've gotten don't. Note the difference [regardless of what Microsoft calls them], historically a Version number change is an Upgrade while a Build is an update. I consider the Build to be similar to the older Service Pack. The Version Upgrade changes can only be prevented by not allowing the Upgrade be installed. I have programs that survive a Build change [update] but disappear each time an Upgrade is done, prompting reinstall of those programs.
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:02.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums