Use my sign in info to automatically finish setting up my device after


  1. Posts : 279
    Win 10 Pro x64
       #1

    Use my sign in info to automatically finish setting up my device after


    "Use my sign in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update"

    Does this option sign you in for a quick second and then lock the computer? Or does it leave you signed in and unlocked while it does the updates where someone else walking by could potentially take over your computer?
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 61,941
    64-bit Windows 11 Pro for Workstations
       #2

    Hello Bob, :)

    If turned on, it will automatically sign in to your account and lock the computer after restarting the computer for a Windows update.

    If turned off, it will sit on the lock screen after a restart.

    Windows Update - Use sign in info to auto finish set up in Windows 10 - Windows 10 Windows Update Activation Tutorials
    Last edited by Brink; 03 Apr 2017 at 23:04. Reason: correction
      My Computers


  3. Posts : 279
    Win 10 Pro x64
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Thanks for the quick reply brink! So if I leave this option turned on, will it keep me signed in after it's done installing the update? Or will it lock my PC so no passerbys could start using it?
    Last edited by Brink; 03 Apr 2017 at 23:04. Reason: removed quote
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 61,941
    64-bit Windows 11 Pro for Workstations
       #4

    Yep, you'll be signed back in and computer locked afterwards if you turn it on.
    Last edited by Brink; 03 Apr 2017 at 23:05. Reason: correction
      My Computers


  5. Posts : 2,837
    Windows 11 Pro, 22H2
       #5

    Just for clarification, after the updates are installed, Windows will lock the system. From the Windows help on this topic:

    Some updates require you to restart your PC and sign in to Windows in order to finish installing the update, which means you might sign in to Windows and find you can’t use your PC until the update is finished. Windows 10 helps prevent this from happening by allowing Windows to use your sign in info*to create a special token. This token is used to automatically sign in after a restart, finish setting up your PC, and then lock your PC to help keep your account and personal info safe.
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums