Windows 10 October 2018 Update rollout now paused


  1. Posts : 30,588
    Windows 10 (Pro and Insider Pro)
       #920

    Wynona said:
    Somewhere in the neighborhood of 25 years ago, a friend had a picture of his dad and wanted to share it with his siblings. It was an 8 x 10, so not digital.

    I scanned it, cleaned it up and printed copies for him (there was no studio logo on the photo, or I wouldn't have done it). I saved the scan, put it on a floppy and sneakernetted it over to him so he'd have a "digital" copy.

    That was my experience with "digital photography" around 25 years ago.
    I have a lots of them, and know people who have their all collection going way back, on their Pcs
      My Computers


  2. Posts : 622
    Windows 10 Pro x64
       #921

    larc919 said:
    I've rolled back to 1803. The main reason is an architectural program I use often has crashed twice since I "upgraded" to 1809. I don't recall it ever crashing before. Then when I checked my Macrium backups, I saw the 1809 backup was more than 4 GB smaller than the 1803 backup done a few hours before. Although I hadn't noticed anything missing, that seemed suspicious. I guess Windows could have shrunk that much, but I somehow doubt it.
    Glad I still had my 1803 image. I was thinking about deleting all of them because I made some major changes to file locations on my D drive but I decided to just keep the last 1803 image which had most of the D Drive changes. So restoring it I had to just fix a few broken icon shortcuts and reinstall OneDrive to point to the new location.

    Lesson is don't delete your older Macrium restore points when you install a new Redstone build.
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 29,078
    Windows 10 21H1 Build 19043.1023
       #922

    f14tomcat said:
    This morning I rolled back my Release Preview Ring build to 1803 by restoring a Macrium full image. Went thru the usual tweaks and adjustments most of us do. Was about to do another full backup and decided to check for Defender definition updates.

    Wellllllll................................guess what?

    Down comes 1809 in all it's glory! Title on Check for Updates was Feature Update so it wasn't some Insider fluky thing. Insider titles are like 17763.1 rs_release and such.

    So, apparently, it has been pulled from GA as we know, but still in that little niche for Release Preview Ring subscribers. Updated, again, to 1809, and settings say I'm still in Release Preview Ring.

    Just to let you all know of my surprise.
    Interesting......I think....
    I got the same thing, TC. I left Lappy Little (Fast Ring) on over night right after I'd updated the Desktop to 1809. I finally got around to checking for updates on the Fast Ring . . . surprise! She'd already updated to 1809.
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 2,832
    Windows 10 Pro X64
       #923

    Hi,

    f14tomcat said:
    If you did a clean install with a copy of an ISO of 1809 made from the then available MCT, you wouldn't have any files to lose. Maybe I'm not clear on what you used or exactly when you did it.
    IOW, a clean install can't possibly lose any files for there aren't any. Amen....

    Cheers,
      My Computers


  5. Posts : 56,825
    Multi-boot Windows 10/11 - RTM, RP, Beta, and Insider
       #924

    fdegrove said:
    Hi,



    IOW, a clean install can't possibly lose any files for there aren't any. Amen....

    Cheers,
    That was my whole point............
      My Computers


  6. Posts : 1,463
    Windows 10 Pro 22H2 64 bit
       #925

    My Laptop had 2 recovery partitions for a while and today I decided to go back to 1803 from 1809. I had 5 partitions:
    1) Old Recovery 2)UEFI 3)MSR 4) C: 5) Active Recovery.

    I used a Macrium image of 1803 and booted with the Macrium rescue USB.

    In the restore window I deleted all partitions on the target drive and then dragged 3 of my image partitions to the target in this order. 1)UEFI 2)MSR 3)C: and left the rest 1.2GB unallocated for future use in case 1809 decides it wants a recovery partition when I update in the future. Restore took 16 min and I now have a clean looking Laptop on 1803 and no recovery partitions.

    All is well. Love me some Macrium.

    Jim
      My Computer


  7. Posts : 56,825
    Multi-boot Windows 10/11 - RTM, RP, Beta, and Insider
       #926

    Wynona said:
    I got the same thing, TC. I left Lappy Little (Fast Ring) on over night right after I'd updated the Desktop to 1809. I finally got around to checking for updates on the Fast Ring . . . surprise! She'd already updated to 1809.
    Depends on if you did that before or after they said it was pulled. Before, I would expect that.
      My Computers


  8. Posts : 622
    Windows 10 Pro x64
       #927

    In place upgrade gains you disk space after you cleanup the old installs. I did that with 1803 when I ran the all so great Wise Registry Cleaner and optimizer which messed up performance and was constantly losing disk space.
      My Computer


  9. Posts : 17,661
    Windows 10 Pro
       #928

    lx07 said:
    You could in theory delete everything from OneDrive either by your own mistake or a third party mistake (MS upgrade perhaps).

    I do exactly the same as you though but relying on "It could not happen to me. All my data is in cloud. " is rather optimistic imo. It is good to have an external backup too.
    OK, splitting the hair we can say that yes, if I "accidentally" deleted the data on my primary OneDrive, and at the same time did the same on my NAS which mirrors that OneDrive, I would lose my data.

    Even hinting that "it might happen if you accidentally deleted the data" involves that you might think I am an idiot. I am, of course, but not such an idiot. That kind of accidents do not happen, not to me at least. I do not delete anything without first thinking if it is safe to be deleted.

    I never delete anything on OneDrive, except occasional "Clean the OD Days". One reason I like the big 1 TB OneDrive storage, and unlimited on my few OD for Business accounts, is that I really do not have to delete anything. There's always enough space. Every now and then, not even monthly but a few times a year I will then "clean" OD, removing old obsolete files which I no longer need. That is on purpose, not by accident.

    And, let's not forget: Microsoft OneDrive includes a folder called Recycle Bin. Everything you delete (accidentally or on purpose) will be stored there for 30 days, and can be restored with two mouse clicks. Me losing my data would mean that I would not notice that my files are gone in 30 days.

    Windows 10 October 2018 Update rollout now paused-image.png

    Sorry, I must take my words back (first sentence in this reply). I REALLY COULD NOT LOSE MY PERSONAL DATA!


    lx07 said:
    I don't see what has pirated software got to do with your argument one way or the other either unless you are saying pirated software deletes your user data.
    Pirated software often involves you not having the key to activate it. Once lost / uninstalled, you might lose the possibility to re-install and activate it.

    My point was that because I have valid activation keys to all my software, my worst case scenario would be a relative simple procedure of re-installing and activating Windows and my software, then setting up OneDrive.

    Kari
      My Computer


  10. Posts : 29,078
    Windows 10 21H1 Build 19043.1023
       #929

    f14tomcat said:
    Depends on if you did that before or after they said it was pulled. Before, I would expect that.
    Yeah, after reading your post a little more thoroughly, I realized what you meant! That is totally strange.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums