How to disable Win10 warning on shutdown if someone else is logged in?


  1. Posts : 8
    Win10 home
       #1

    How to disable Win10 warning on shutdown if someone else is logged in?


    I have the habit of clicking Shut Down on my computer and walking away. Then 2 hours later or the next morning I come back to see the "Some else is still using this PC..." warning message. Or some program didn't shut down properly, and I see the "Force Shut Down" button. If I ht the power button on the computer it always shuts down regardless, so I'm trying to get into that habit. But is there any way to make the shut down button work the same way, to shut down when I say shut down regardless if someone else is logged in?

    Quick calculation.... if there are 300 million windows computers, and 10% of users have this occur 10 times a year for last 10 years, computer staying on an extra 16 hours, average computer uses 300W, and power costs $0.10/kWh...
    There is also the wear on the computer... if that time uses up 5% of the computer life, and the average computer costs $1000.... This is a 3 billion dollar problem! LOL.

    Anyways is there a registry setting or something to force it to always shut down when I click Shut Down??

    Meanwhile I will work on my bad habit... =)

    Thanks!!
      My Computer

  2. topgundcp's Avatar
    Posts : 2,762
    MintMate19x64 Win10Prox64
       #2

    Try this:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ; Speed up shutdown
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]
    "AutoEndTasks"="1"
    "HungAppTimeout"="1000"
    "MenuShowDelay"="1"
    "WaitToKillAppTimeout"="2000"
    "LowLevelHooksTimeout"="1000
    
    ;Speed up right click context menu
    [HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-19\Control Panel\Desktop]
    "MenuShowDelay"="1"
    
    [HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-20\Control Panel\Desktop]
    "MenuShowDelay"="1"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    "AutoRestartShell"=dword:00000001
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 8
    Win10 home
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Thanks but this didn't remove the "other user still using"... warning.

    I put all that into a .reg file and merged it. Restarted. Then logged in with 2 users and tried shut-down, no luck. =/
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:20.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums