Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 33,198

Show Printable Version 


How to Enable or Disable User Files Backup in Windows Backup in Windows 10

information   Information
The Backup and Restore (Windows 7) feature (aka: Windows Backup) was originally included in Windows 7. It was deprecated in Windows 8 and removed in in Windows 8.1, but has been included in Windows 10.

While you can use Backup and Restore (Windows 7) to restore any Windows 7 backups on your Windows 10 PC, you can also use it to back up and restore files on your Windows 10 PC.

Windows Backup will backup all files in the libraries, folders, and drives you choose or let Windows choose. You will have a choice to include a system image in the backup. You can also choose to have these items be backed up on a regular schedule.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the ability to backup user files in Windows Backup for all users in Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to enable or disable user files backup in Windows Backup.
Note   Note
This will not affect the ability to create a system image in Windows Backup.

EXAMPLE: User files backup disabled in Windows Backup
Name:  Windows_Backup_files_disabled-1.png
Views: 2026
Size:  35.5 KB Name:  Windows_Backup_files_disabled-2.png
Views: 2053
Size:  30.0 KB



Here's How:
Note   Note
The downloadable .reg files below will modify the DWORD value in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Backup\Client

DisableBackupUI DWORD

(delete) = Enable
1 = Disable


1. Do step 2 (enable) or step 3 (disable) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Enable User Files Backup in Windows Backup

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Enable_user_files_backup_in_Windows_Backup.reg

download


 3. To Disable User Files Backup in Windows Backup

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Disable_user_files_backup_in_Windows_Backup.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn