Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 25,251

Show Printable Version 


How to Setup Assigned Access (Kiosk Mode) in Windows 10

information   Information
You can use the assigned access (Kiosk mode) feature in Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Enterprise, and Windows 10 Education editions to restrict a local standard user account on a PC so that it only has access to a single Universal Windows Platform (UWP) app you select.

When you set up and account with the assigned access feature, the user does not have access to the desktop, Start Menu, or any other part of the PC. The account can only access and use the selected UWP app.

For more information about assigned access, see:

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off assigned access for an account on a PC running Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Enterprise, or Windows 10 Education.

You must be signed in as an administrator to turn on or off assigned access for a local standard user account.

Tip   Tip
To exit assigned access, press the Ctrl+Alt+Del keys.

Note   Note
For a more secure kiosk experience, you can make the following configuration changes to the device:

CONTENTS:
  • Option One: To Set up and Turn On Assigned Access for an Account
  • Option Two: To Turn Off Assigned Access for an Account





Setup Assigned Access (Kiosk Mode) in Windows 10 OPTION ONE Setup Assigned Access (Kiosk Mode) in Windows 10
To Set up and Turn On Assigned Access for an Account

1. While signed in to your administrator account, add a new local account as a standard user that will be used for assigned access.

2. Sign in to the new local standard user account, open the Store app, and install the app (if not already) you want to use with assigned access.

3. Sign out of the new local standard user account, and sign back in to your administrator account.

4. Open Settings, and click/tap on the Accounts icon.

5. Click/tap on Family & other people on the left side, and click/tap on the Set up assigned access link on the right side. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-1.jpg
Views: 851
Size:  56.9 KB

6. Click/tap on Choose an account. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-2.jpg
Views: 789
Size:  54.7 KB

7. Select the local standard user account (ex: "Kiosk account") created from step 1 above. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-3.jpg
Views: 794
Size:  21.5 KB

8. Click/tap on Choose an app. (see screenshot below)
Note   Note
You can always change this setting for what app to use with assigned access.


Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-4.jpg
Views: 791
Size:  60.2 KB

9. Select an available app (ex: "Tips") you want to use with assign access. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-5.jpg
Views: 798
Size:  22.1 KB

10. Assigned access is now setup and turned on for the selected account. You can now close Settings if you like. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-6.jpg
Views: 824
Size:  55.5 KB

11. Whenever a user signs in to the selected account (ex: "Kiosk account") with assigned access, they will only have access to the selected app (ex: "Tips"). (see screenshots below)
Note   Note
If you like, you could set Windows 10 to automatically sign in to the account with assigned access at startup to not see the sign in screen.

How to Automatically Sign in to User Account at Startup in Windows 10


Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-7.jpg
Views: 782
Size:  55.2 KB Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-8.jpg
Views: 804
Size:  52.6 KB





Setup Assigned Access (Kiosk Mode) in Windows 10 OPTION TWO Setup Assigned Access (Kiosk Mode) in Windows 10
To Turn Off Assigned Access for an Account

1. Open Settings, and click/tap on the Accounts icon.

2. Click/tap on Family & other people on the left side, and click/tap on the Set up assigned access link on the right side. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Set_up_assigned_access-1.jpg
Views: 851
Size:  56.9 KB

3. Click/tap on the Turn off assigned access and sign out the selected account link. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Turn_off_assigned_access.jpg
Views: 769
Size:  58.3 KB

4. You can now close Settings if you like.


That's it,
Shawn