Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 18,988

Show Printable Version 


Add or Remove Previous Versions from Context Menu and Properties in Windows 10

information   Information
If you can't find a file on your computer or you accidently modified or deleted a file, you can try to restore it from a previous version.

The previous versions feature in Windows 10 allows you to restore a previous version of files, folders, and drives that were saved or backed up as part of a restore point, File History, and/or Windows Backup.

If a file, folder, or drive was not included in a restore point, added to File History, or included in a Windows Backup, then there will be no previous versions available for it.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the Previous Versions tab from Properties and Restore previous versions from context menu for all users in Windows 10.

While you must be signed in as an administrator to add or remove these items, all users will be able to use them if added.


EXAMPLE: "Restore previous versions" context menu and "Previous Versions" tab in Properties
Name:  Restore_previous_versions_context_menu.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  17.6 KB Name:  File.png
Views: 131
Size:  105.9 KB



Here's How:

1. Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Add "Restore previous versions" context menu and "Previous Versions" tab in Properties

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_Previous_Versions_to_Properties_and_context_menu.reg

download


 3. To Remove "Restore previous versions" context menu and "Previous Versions" tab in Properties

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_Previous_Versions_from_Properties_and_context_menu.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.



That's it,
Shawn