Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 24,512

Show Printable Version 


How to Add or Remove 'Turn off hard disk after' from Power Options in Windows 10

information   Information
The Turn off hard disk after power option lets users set to have hard disks (HDD) power down after a specified time of HDD inactivity is detected. This will not affect a SSD (Solid State Drive).

Having your HDDs automatically turned off after being idle can help save energy and extend a PC's battery life.

When you or anything tries to access a HDD that has been turned off, there will be a delay of a few seconds as the HDD automatically spins back up and is turned back on before being able to access it.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the Turn off hard disk after setting under Hard disk in Power Options for all users in Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to add or remove this setting in Power Options.


EXAMPLE: "Turn off hard disk after" in Power Options
Name:  Turn_off_hard_disk_after_Power_Options.png
Views: 1610
Size:  21.1 KB




Here's How:
Note   Note
The .reg files below will modify the DWORD value in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\6738e2c4-e8a5-4a42-b16a-e040e769756e

Attributes DWORD

1 = Remove "Turn off hard disk after"
2 = Add "Turn off hard disk after"



1. Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Add "Turn off hard disk after" to Power Options

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_Turn_off_hard_disk_after_to_Power_Options.reg

download


 3. To Remove "Turn off hard disk after" from Power Options

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_Turn_off_hard_disk_after_from_Power_Options.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. If prompted, click on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.



That's it,
Shawn