How to Change Permission Level of Shared OneDrive Files and Folders
InformationYou can easily save your files to OneDrive and get to them from any device, like your Windows 10 PC, Windows 10 tablet, or Windows 10 Mobile phone.
You can use OneDrive to share photos, Microsoft Office documents, other files, and entire folders with people.
You can stop sharing an item, or change the permissions others have to it, if you are the owner of the item or have edit permissions.
This tutorial will show you how to change the permission level of OneDrive files and folders you shared with people or have edit permission.
- Option One: To Change Permission Level of OneDrive File or Folder Shared by a Link
- Option Two: To Change Permission Level of OneDrive File or Folder Shared to People or Group
OPTION ONETo Change Permission Level of OneDrive File or Folder Shared by a Link
1. Remove the link of the shared file or folder to stop sharing it. (see screenshot below)
2. Get a new link to share the file or folder with the permission level you want instead. (see screenshot below)
OPTION TWOTo Change Permission Level of OneDrive File or Folder Shared to People or Group
1. Go online to your OneDrive at Microsoft, and sign in if you are not already.
2. Click/tap on the Information icon in the toolbar at the top right corner to show the Details pane. (see screenshot below)
3. Select (check) a shared file or folder that you want to change the permission level of, and click/tap on the Can View or Can Edit permissions menu in the Details pane under the person or group you want to change the permission level of. (see screenshot below)
4. Click/tap on Allow edit, Change to view only, or Stop Sharing for the permission level you want. (see screenshots below)
NoteChange to view only (view only) - When you share items with this type of link, people can view, copy or download your items without signing in. They can also forward the link to other people.
Allow edit (view and edit) - When you share items with this type of link, people can edit files, and can add or delete files in a shared folder. Recipients can forward the link, change the list of people sharing the files or folder, and change permissions for recipients. If you're sharing a folder, people with Edit permissions can copy, move, edit, rename, share, and delete anything in the folder.
Stop sharing - This will remove the file and folder from the person's shared list, and they will no longer have access to it.