A Homegroup makes it easy to share pictures, music, documents, videos, and printers with other Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10 computers on your local home network. You can also stream media to devices.
When a PC creates a homegroup
, the homegroup is protected with a password. To join a homegroup
, you will need the homegroup password
, which you can get from the PC that created the homegroup or any PC already joined to the homegroup.
When a PC joins a homegroup, all user accounts (except guest account
) on the PC become members of the homegroup. Each user on the PC will always be able to choose what libraries and devices to share with the homegroup.
If you decide that you no longer want to belong to a homegroup, you can leave it by removing your computer from it. After you leave a homegroup, you will no longer be able to access files and printers other people have shared with that homegroup. If all computers joined to the same homegroup leave the homegroup, then the homegroup will no longer exist.
When you leave a homegroup, all user accounts on your computer also leave the homegroup.
This tutorial will show you how to leave a homegroup
in Windows 10
to stop sharing files and printers with other Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 PCs joined to the homegroup.