Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 33,033

Show Printable Version 


How to Enable or Disable Sync Your Settings in Windows 10


When Sync settings is turned on, Windows syncs the settings you choose across all your Windows 10 devices that you've signed in to with your Microsoft account.

Notes
  • Sync settings also works if you sign in with a work or school account linked to your Microsoft account.
  • If Sync settings isn't available on your device, your organization might not allow it.

The settings you choose to sync are also saved in OneDrive (cloud).

You can choose to sync your theme, passwords, language preferences, Ease of Access, and Other Windows settings settings. If you turn on Other Windows settings, Windows syncs some device settings (for things like printers and mouse options), File Explorer settings, and notification preferences. For a complete list of settings that Windows can sync, see Windows 10 roaming settings reference.
  • Theme - desktop background, user tile, taskbar position, etc.
  • Passwords - Windows credential manager, including Wi-Fi profiles
  • Language Preferences - spelling dictionary, system language settings
  • Ease of Access - Narrator, On-screen keyboard, Magnifier
  • Other Windows Settings - see Windows Settings details

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the ability to turn on sync your settings for all Microsoft accounts on your Windows 10 PC.

You must be signed in as an administrator to enable or disable sync your settings.


 CONTENTS:

  • Option One: Enable or Disable Sync your settings in Local Group Policy Editor
  • Option Two: Enable or Disable Sync your settings using a REG file


EXAMPLE: Sync your settings disabled
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Disabled_Sync_your_settings.png 
Views:	1664 
Size:	39.2 KB 
ID:	68076






Enable or Disable Sync Your Settings in Windows 10 OPTION ONE Enable or Disable Sync Your Settings in Windows 10
Enable or Disable Sync your settings in Local Group Policy Editor


The Local Group Policy Editor is only available in the Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise, and Education editions.

All editions can use Option TWO below.

1. Open the Local Group Policy Editor.

2. In the left pane of Local Group Policy Editor, navigate to the location below. (see screenshot below)

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Sync your settings

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sync_your_settings_gpedit-1.jpg 
Views:	1027 
Size:	140.4 KB 
ID:	68077

3. In the right pane of Sync your settings in Local Group Policy Editor, double click/tap on the Do not sync policy to edit it. (see screenshot above)

4. Do step 5 (enable) or step 6 (disable) below for what you would like to do.


 5. To Enable Sync your settings

A) Select (dot) Not Configured or Disabled, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7 below. (see screenshot below)

Not Configured is the default setting.


 6. To Disable Sync your settings

A) Select (dot) Enabled, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7 below. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sync_your_settings_gpedit-2.jpg 
Views:	1661 
Size:	124.8 KB 
ID:	68078

7. When finished, you can close the Local Group Policy Editor if you like.






Enable or Disable Sync Your Settings in Windows 10 OPTION TWO Enable or Disable Sync Your Settings in Windows 10
Enable or Disable Sync your settings using a REG file


The downloadable .reg files below will add and modify the DWORD values in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\SettingSync

DisableSettingSync DWORD

2 = disable
delete = enable

DisableSettingSyncUserOverride DWORD

1 = disable
delete = enable


1. Do step 2 (enable) or step 3 (disable) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Enable Sync your settings

This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Enable_Sync_your_settings.reg

download


 3. To Disable Sync your settings

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Disable_Sync_your_settings.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. If you like, you can now delete the downloaded .reg file.


That's it,
Shawn