Reset Windows 10  

Page 24 of 27 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast
  1. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 48,758
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro for Workstations build 19635
    Thread Starter
       #230

    Odd.

    Did you move anything over to the "D" drive? For example, user folders, page file, etc...
      My Computers

  2. sportsfan148's Avatar
    Posts : 835
    Windows 10 Home
       #231

    Brink said:
    Odd.

    Did you move anything over to the "D" drive? For example, user folders, page file, etc...
    I did relocate my Documents and Downloads folder over to the D: drive. But I restored default settings for them back to the C: drive last week. Nothing else has ever been moved over to the Drive. And they aren't there now so it wouldn't be relevant as Ive only just now rechecked Reset PC as I just described above
      My Computer

  3. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 48,758
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro for Workstations build 19635
    Thread Starter
       #232

    In that case, I'm not sure why your D drive would be listed unless the system may be using it for something else.
      My Computers

  4. sportsfan148's Avatar
    Posts : 835
    Windows 10 Home
       #233

    Brink said:
    In that case, I'm not sure why your D drive would be listed unless the system may be using it for something else.
    Yeah its a weird one. The only progammes I have on D: are Malwarebytes Free and Apache Open Office.
    So If I wanted to clean install using Reset PC sometime in the future and I also wanted to remove everything from the D: drive as well so both drives were clean would it be better to just remove everything from the Windows drive only using Reset PC, ignoring the D: drive completely. Then, after Windows has finished installing go into Disk Management and delete the volume on D: so its unallocated. Then create a new simple volume on the D: drive, format it using NTFS and give it a drive letter?
    Or would it be better to go into Disk Management and delete the volume on D: and set up D: drive as I describe above before I use Reset PC to clean install Windows 10?
      My Computer

  5. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 48,758
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro for Workstations build 19635
    Thread Starter
       #234

    Installing the program to that drive may be what's causing it.

    You could reset using the "Only the drive where Windows is installed" option, but it break anything linked to the D drive.

    Of course the other option would wipe both C and D.
      My Computers

  6. sportsfan148's Avatar
    Posts : 835
    Windows 10 Home
       #235

    Brink said:
    Installing the program to that drive may be what's causing it.

    You could reset using the "Only the drive where Windows is installed" option, but it break anything linked to the D drive.

    Of course the other option would wipe both C and D.
    Installing which programme to the drive D: might be causing it?...Malwarebytes Free?

    That's what I was asking Shawn. Because you cant understand why the D: drive is even listed under Reset PC as an option at all...should I just ignore it there and remove everything from the Windows drive only?
    Then..Should I just use the method I describe above to clean the D: drive after installing Windows 10? And if so does it matter if I delete the volume on drive D: and then create a new simple volume on Drive D: in Disk Management before using Reset PC. Or is better to clean install Windows using Reset PC and when Windows has finished installing then go into Disk management and wipe the D: drive?
      My Computer

  7. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 48,758
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro for Workstations build 19635
    Thread Starter
       #236

    Selecting to install any program to another drive could mark it as part of the system drive (aka: Windows drive).

    It just depends on if you wanted to also wipe D or only C.

    You could uninstall the program(s) on the D drive to see if that removes the D drive listed in Reset afterwards.
      My Computers


  8. sportsfan148's Avatar
    Posts : 835
    Windows 10 Home
       #237

    Brink said:
    Selecting to install any program to another drive could mark it as part of the system drive (aka: Windows drive).

    It just depends on if you wanted to also wipe D or only C.

    You could uninstall the program(s) on the D drive to see if that removes the D drive listed in Reset afterwards.
    Yeah I would be wanting to wipe the D: drive as well so both drives are clean because as you said above the "Only the drive where Windows is installed" option, will break anything linked to the D drive.
    Does it make any difference whether I wipe drive D: in Disk Management before I reset the PC or is it better to wipe drive D: after the Windows installation has been done?
      My Computer

  9. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 48,758
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro for Workstations build 19635
    Thread Starter
       #238

    It shouldn't make any difference which way you wipe D.

    It may be faster to select all drives while resetting to do it all at once if wanted.
      My Computers

  10. sportsfan148's Avatar
    Posts : 835
    Windows 10 Home
       #239

    Brink said:
    It shouldn't make any difference which way you wipe D.

    It may be faster to select all drives while resetting to do it all at once if wanted.
    That's what I was trying to ask earlier but I must have confused you in what I meant
    I was asking if it would be better to ignore the select all drives option in Reset PC where it shows drive D: listed. The reason I asked that was because you said it was Odd and you couldn't understand why drive D: was being shown as an option there at all.
    By asking if I should go into Disk Management and wipe drive D: manually it would ensure that it had been done correctly...that's why I mentioned that method?
    Ive seen people discuss on here disconnecting any secondary drives before doing a clean installation to ensure windows files cant get written to it by mistake during Windows setup. I never disconnect any of my drives. So I thought that if before I Reset PC I went into Disk Management and deleted the volume on the D: drive leaving the D: drive unallocated that it would completely rule out that possibility. Then after Windows installation has finished I could go into Disk Management and prepare the D: drive for use , creating a New Simple Volume. What do you think?
      My Computer


 
Page 24 of 27 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast

Tutorial Categories

Reset Windows 10 Tutorial Index Network & Sharing Instalation and Upgrade Browsers and Email General Tips Gaming Customization Apps and Features Virtualization BSOD System Security User Accounts Hardware and Drivers Updates and Activation Backup and Restore Performance and Maintenance Mixed Reality Phone


Related Threads
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums