Windows 10: Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10  

    Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10

    Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10

    How to Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10
    Published by Category: General Tips
    31 Mar 2017
    Designer Media Ltd

    Published by


    Brink's Avatar
    Administrator

    Posts: 20,778

    Show Printable Version 


    How to Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10

    information   Information
    The Recycle Bin provides a safety net when deleting files or folders. When you delete any of these items from your hard disk, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full.

    If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each location will have its own $Recycle.Bin and Recycle Bin settings. Removable drives, such as USB flash drives and memory cards, will not have a Recycle Bin. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted.

    If you don't want to receive a delete confirmation dialog message each time you move a file or folder to the Recycle Bin, you can choose to not get the messages.

    This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off the Recycle Bin delete confirmation dialog for your account in Windows 10.

    Note   Note
    If you delete a file or folder that's larger than the set maximum storage size of the Recycle Bin, then you will always get a This file is too big to recycle. Do you want to permanently delete it? confirmation message like below.
    Name:  Recycle_Bin_too_big_delete_confirmation.png
Views: 2100
Size:  12.9 KB

    If you empty the Recycle Bin, you will always get a Are you sure you want to permanently delete...? confirmation dialog like below.
    Name:  Empty_Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete_confirmation-2..png
Views: 1877
Size:  6.6 KB
    Name:  Empty_Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete_confirmation..png
Views: 1943
Size:  13.4 KB

    EXAMPLE: Recycle Bin delete confirmation dialog
    Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation.png
Views: 1906
Size:  14.2 KB
    Name:  Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete.png
Views: 1880
Size:  12.3 KB



    Here's How:

    1. Right click or press and hold on the Recycle Bin, and click/tap on Properties. (see screenshot below)

    Name:  Recycle_Bin_context_menu.png
Views: 1871
Size:  11.7 KB

    2. Select the Recycle Bin location for the drive (ex: C ) you want at the top. (see screenshot below)

    Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation-1.png
Views: 1908
Size:  17.8 KB

    3. Check (on) or uncheck (off) the Display delete confirmation dialog box for what you want, and click/tap on Apply. (see screenshot below)

    Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation-2.png
Views: 1957
Size:  18.4 KB

    4. Repeat step 2 above if you have another Recycle Bin location you want to turn on or off the delete confirmation dialog for.

    5. When finished, click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below step 3)



    That's it,
    Shawn


  1.    2 Weeks Ago #1

    So we did, unchecked this asking for confirmation . ( Win10 1703 )
    Still it keeps asking for confirmation ,when deleting files from recycle bin............!!
    Maybe another solution ?
      My ComputerSystem Spec


  2. Posts : 20,778
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 16199
    Thread Starter
       2 Weeks Ago #2

    Hello @Pietcorus,

    This delete confirmation is for when you delete an item for it to go into the Recycle Bin instead.

    If you empty the Recycle Bin, you will always get a "Are you sure you want to permanently delete...?" confirmation dialog.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  3.    2 Weeks Ago #3

    Ok, I see, my intention is to remove "Are you sure you want to permanently delete...?" confirmation dialog .
    I see this as an "overkill" ,coz you have choosen for removal and then you are asked again "are you sure " , is it possible to remove this disturbing asking............?
      My ComputerSystem Spec


  4. Posts : 20,778
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 16199
    Thread Starter
       2 Weeks Ago #4

    I'm not aware of a way to disable the confirmation prompt to empty the Recycle Bin.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  5.    2 Weeks Ago #5

    Ok, well thank you anyway Brink, maybe later we will find a way to remove the " bloated dialogs "..........
      My ComputerSystem Spec


  6. Posts : 20,778
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 16199
    Thread Starter
       2 Weeks Ago #6

    I'll always be on the look out.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  7.    2 Weeks Ago #7

    Brink said: View Post
    I'm not aware of a way to disable the confirmation prompt to empty the Recycle Bin.
    I think this confirmation should always remain. It is the last line of defence to stop losing file permanently without having to use specialist tools. On many occasions, I have gone to empty bin but warning has made me think "maybe not".

    I am more cavalier about deleting files to the bin as I know I can get them back quickly if I screw up (as we all do). Of course, good old Macrium images are my fallback but more hassle.
      My ComputerSystem Spec


  8. Posts : 20,778
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 16199
    Thread Starter
       2 Weeks Ago #8

    I agree. Otherwise, it'll be way too easy to permanently delete something by mistake.
      My ComputersSystem Spec


 

Related Threads
I want to disable the Permanently Delete Files confirmation How i Can do that?
So, when I delete folders or files from desktop or other palces my taskbar icons flicker. And they flickr only if Recycle Bin is empty. if there are already icons in Recycle Bin there is no flickering. i do a lot of stuff and i need to prevent...
What is this? How to fix? Long green progress bar that never finishes in explorer. 35702
I used Unlocker to get rid of ALL the "Protected" Files I had in C:\ temp folder from a NovaBackup Restore. ALL deleted files went into the Recycle Bin. I forgot to change setting in Recycle Bin Properties to Delete files and NOT save them. Well,...
I have unchecked delete confirmation in the recycle bin properties, but whenever I delete a file or folder on a removable drive or a network drive, the delete confirmation pops up. This does not happen on Windows 7 or 8.
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:19.
Find Us