How to Clear Your Location History on Windows 10 PC


Some apps need to know when you’re in a specific location to work correctly. For instance, if you’ve asked an app to remind you to buy bread when you’re in the grocery store, the app will need to know when you’re in the store. To give you maps to get you where you’re going, or to show you lists of shops or restaurants near you, many apps and services request location information from your device. That’s what the Windows 10 location service does: tells your apps and services where you are or where you’ve been, so that you can get info more relevant to you.

Some Windows apps and services that use location info also use your location history. When the location setting is on, locations looked up by apps or services will be stored on the device for a limited time (24 hours in Windows 10), then deleted. Apps that have access to this info will be labeled Uses location history on the Location settings page.

See also: Windows 10 location service and privacy | Microsoft Support

This tutorial will show you how to manually clear the location history for your account in Windows 10.



Here's How:

1. Open Settings, and click/tap on the Privacy icon.

2. Click/tap on Location on the left side in Settings, and click/tap on the Clear button under Location history on the right side. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Clear_location_history.png
Views: 96
Size:  51.1 KB

3. You will now see a check mark to the right of the Clear button indicating your location history on this device has been cleared. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Cleared.png
Views: 84
Size:  968 Bytes

4. You can now close Settings if you like.


That's it,
Shawn