How to Enable or Disable Sync in Google Chrome in Windows


To save your info to your Google Account, you would sign in to Google Chrome and turn on sync.

What happens when you sync:
  • You can see and update your synced info on all your devices, like bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings.
  • You'll sign in automatically to Gmail, YouTube, Search, and other Google services.
  • If you change devices (like if you lost your phone or got a new laptop), you'll get all your info back.
  • Youíll personalize your experience in other Google products by including your Chrome history with your Web & App Activity.

Only turn on Chrome sync with devices you trust. If you're using a public computer, use guest mode instead.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the availability to turn on or off sync in Google Chrome for all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to enable or disable sync in Google Chrome.


EXAMPLE: Google Chrome sync enabled and disabled
Name:  Sync_enabled_in_Google_Chrome-1.jpg
Views: 2437
Size:  38.8 KB Name:  Sync_disabled_in_Google_Chrome.jpg
Views: 2389
Size:  33.4 KB
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sync_enabled_in_Google_Chrome-2.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	70.7 KB 
ID:	198698



Here's How:

The downloadable .reg files below will add and modify the DWORD value in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Google\Chrome

SyncDisabled DWORD

delete or 0 = Enable (available)
1 = Disable


1. Do step 2 (enable) or step 3 (disable) below for what you want.


 2. To Enable Sync in Google Chrome for All Users

This is the default setting to make sync available to turn on or off for all users.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Enable_Sync_in_Google_Chrome.reg

download


 3. To Disable Sync in Google Chrome for All Users

This will disable and make sync unavailable to turn on for all users.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Disable_Sync_in_Google_Chrome.reg

download


4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. If Google Chrome is currently open, then close and reopen the browser to apply.

8. If you like, you can now delete the downloaded .reg file.


That's it,
Shawn