Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 27,242

Show Printable Version 


information   Information
The When sharing media setting under Multimedia settings in Power Options allows users to specify what your computer does when a device or computer is playing media from your computer.

Users can specify the following actions below:

Allow the computer to sleep = Devices and computers will not be able to play media from your computer while it sleeps.

Prevent idling to sleep = Devices and computers will be able to play media from your computer unless you put it to sleep.

Allow the computer to enter Away Mode = Devices and computers will be able to play media from your computer while it is in Away Mode.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the When sharing media setting under Multimedia settings in Power Options for all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to add or remove this setting in Power Options.

EXAMPLE: "When sharing media" in Power Options
Name:  When_sharing_media_in_Power_Options.png
Views: 111
Size:  29.3 KB



Here's How:
Note   Note
The downloadable .reg files below will modify the DWORD value in the registry key below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\9596FB26-9850-41fd-AC3E-F7C3C00AFD4B\03680956-93BC-4294-BBA6-4E0F09BB717F

Attributes DWORD

1 = Remove
2 = Add


1. Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Add "When sharing media" to Power Options

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_When_sharing_media_to_Power_Options.reg

download


 3. To Remove "When sharing media" from Power Options

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_When_sharing_media_from_Power_Options.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. When prompted, click on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn