I've got office 365, Mine is on auto update (is that compulsory?) but mostly I check it manually via update now. I always worry that it will be in the midst of an auto update in the background when I choose to shutdown the machine and cause corruption. So I figure regular manual checks minimises that risk. What would happen in a scenario like that? Does it just pick up where it left off when you next turn on and log in?