Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

  1. Joined : Mar 2015
    Posts : 4
    Windows 10
       31 Mar 2015 #1

    Windows 10 launches extra thread when running an executable


    Hi there. I observed that when creating an executable with Visual Studio, Windows 10 will launch one (sometimes even two) extra thread. This happens even for the simplest program:

    int main()
    {
    return 0;
    }

    If you break on return 0, Visual Studio will show two threads: the main thread, and an extra unknown one.

    Has anyone encountered this yet? Do you know the cause and if it should/will be fixed?

    Thanks.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  2. Joined : Sep 2014
    Posts : 2,923
    Windows 10 Pro
       31 Mar 2015 #2

    catalincocis said: View Post
    Hi there. I observed that when creating an executable with Visual Studio, Windows 10 will launch one (sometimes even two) extra thread. This happens even for the simplest program:

    int main()
    {
    return 0;
    }

    If you break on return 0, Visual Studio will show two threads: the main thread, and an extra unknown one.

    Has anyone encountered this yet? Do you know the cause and if it should/will be fixed?

    Thanks.
    What kind of program are you creating? That looks like C, are you sure you aren't creating a managed app by mistake?
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  3. Joined : Jan 2014
    Oak Ridge TN, USA
    Posts : 23,934
    Windows 10 Pro x64
       31 Mar 2015 #3

    Mystere said: View Post
    What kind of program are you creating? That looks like C, are you sure you aren't creating a managed app by mistake?
    You can create/test C/C++ in visual studio.. I use CodeBlocks.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  4. Joined : Oct 2013
    Texas
    Posts : 7,530
    Windows 10 Pro X64
       31 Mar 2015 #4

    Visual studio has bugs with build 10049



    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-10-news/5059-if-you-developer-microsoft-recommends-you-do-not-upgrade.html#post217406
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  5. Joined : Mar 2015
    Posts : 4
    Windows 10
       31 Mar 2015 #5

    Mystere said: View Post
    What kind of program are you creating? That looks like C, are you sure you aren't creating a managed app by mistake?
    No, it's not a managed app. I created a C++ General Empty Project.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  6. Joined : Jan 2014
    Oak Ridge TN, USA
    Posts : 23,934
    Windows 10 Pro x64
       31 Mar 2015 #6

    Dude said: View Post
    Visual studio has bugs with build 10049


    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-10-news/5059-if-you-developer-microsoft-recommends-you-do-not-upgrade.html#post217406

    Thanks for the information Doug.. good man!!
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  7. Joined : Sep 2014
    Posts : 2,923
    Windows 10 Pro
       31 Mar 2015 #7

    Dude said: View Post
    Visual studio has bugs with build 10049

    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-10-news/5059-if-you-developer-microsoft-recommends-you-do-not-upgrade.html#post217406
    No, Visual Studio 2015 Has problems, there's no mention of Visual Studio 2013 or earlier.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  8. Joined : Oct 2013
    Texas
    Posts : 7,530
    Windows 10 Pro X64
       31 Mar 2015 #8

    Mystere said: View Post
    No, Visual Studio 2015 Has problems, there's no mention of Visual Studio 2013 or earlier.


    True, but the op didn't mention his version
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  9. Joined : Mar 2015
    Posts : 4
    Windows 10
       31 Mar 2015 #9

    Dude said: View Post
    True, but the op didn't mention his version
    I used Visual Studio 2008.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  10. Joined : Oct 2013
    Texas
    Posts : 7,530
    Windows 10 Pro X64
       31 Mar 2015 #10

    catalincocis said: View Post
    I used Visual Studio 2008.
    And this is a preview OS....Give feedback to MS
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Xbox Xbox Avatars app launches for Windows 10 Technical Preview
Source: Xbox Avatars app launches for Windows 10 Technical Preview | Windows Central
Windows 10 News
Mozilla Firefox 64-Bit Developer Edition Launches on Windows
Source
Windows 10 News
An Extra Hour of Sleep Tonight!
For those affected, set your clocks back one hour before bedtime! Actually, is Daylight Savings Time a continent wide thing? I'm not even sure! :)
Chillout Room
How are you supposed to use extra desktops?
Hi I don't quite get the add desktops thing. I open the desktop and add another one, then what. If I put different Icons on it does it persist indefinitely so two different used could have different desktops? If it's going to do that it...
General Support
Microsoft Launches First Windows 9 Support Forum
More
Windows 10 News
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47.
Find Us
Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 10 Forums