Help Removing Backup and Sync Files from ONLINE only!


  1. Posts : 549
    Windows 10 Pro
       #1

    Help Removing Backup and Sync Files from ONLINE only!


    I am on Windows 10 Pro 1909 but that should not matter. Here is our problem.

    When my wife upgraded from Google Drive to Backup and Sync, she did not see the options to specify what to sync. So, you guessed it, it started uploading EVERYTHING on the desktop and sub folders! She did finally stop it and there is about 12GB up there!
    So here is the issue. We want to keep EVERYTHING on her PC, but want to remove ONLY the files, etc from the ONLINE copy only! She is afraid that if she removes what is online, it will also remove it from the PC if it goes to Sync again!

    Does anyone know what she can now do to get things back to NORMAL? She had very little on Google Drive before the update to Backup and Sync and just wants to get back to normal.

    Thank you ALL
      My Computer

  2. Caledon Ken's Avatar
    Posts : 24,161
    Windows 10 Pro x64 Version 2004
       #2

    Hi MPSAN

    Might I suggest that you back up everything in the way of data to a USB stick. Then for an extra layer of comfort you could copy the USB into your machine. Now you have two independent copies of the data.

    Return to your wife's machine and make the changes. Delete what is in the cloud and sync.

    Should it delete copy it back in from USB.

    I'm not sure how you are using these cloud applications so can't really comment on Normal. I'm not keen on syncing because if I change a file on system and save it it then sync's to cloud and I can't use the copy to restore my mistake.

    I like to be able to invoke a process or have it on a schedule basis and I want versions.

    Copying out to USB and on to your machine should give your wife the confidence to delete on the cloud. Start small, see what happens.
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 549
    Windows 10 Pro
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Thank you. Well, I was going to do a FULL Macrium Reflect Image first anyway. Google has a strange option and they say that you can remove files from your system and then elect to save them on Google or delete in both places but they never assume that you want to keep them on your system ONLY. We are about to try dropbox basic as it is free and they let you go back 30 days to a previous version of your file! We both may want to give this a try!
      My Computer

  4. Caledon Ken's Avatar
    Posts : 24,161
    Windows 10 Pro x64 Version 2004
       #4

    Interesting. I guess depending on how much data you have this could be quite workable.
      My Computer


  5. Posts : 549
    Windows 10 Pro
    Thread Starter
       #5

    Yes, that IS the issue. My wife uses VERY little data but when she updated from Google Drive to Backup and Sync it started loading her whole desktop and sub folders. Now there is 12 GB of data on Google she does not want there and is afraid to delete that data as she is afraid it will then remove it from her desktop as well! They have no provision that we see to remove from Google and keep our local files!
      My Computer

  6. Caledon Ken's Avatar
    Posts : 24,161
    Windows 10 Pro x64 Version 2004
       #6

    Yes I read that in your first post, hence the copies. If it deletes you replace.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:57.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums