OneDrive Delete Confirmation Message Solved

  1.    15 Apr 2018 #1

    OneDrive Delete Confirmation Message


    I hope this is the right forum and I hope someone can help.

    I'm using OneDrive on the computer (Windows 10),and it randomly updated the other day. When I pressed delete to delete a file instead of the usual Windows 'this item will be removed to the recycle bin' message it was a OneDrive message and I accidentally clicked the box that says not to warn when deleting a file on Onedrive. Is there any way to change it back - instead of the file just moving straight to the recycle bin after clicking delete?

    I know if you right click Recycle Bin there is the 'display delete confirmation dialogue' option - but that only applies to files not housed in a OneDrive folder.

    I've emailed the OneDrive help team who told me to get in touch with the Windows Team, but their chat thing was useless and told me to 'ask a question and get community help - but when I tried to submit a question it said that forum was locked.

    I've tried uninstalling OneDrive and reinstalling it and I've tried resetting OneDrive but neither one made any difference.

    Does anyone know of any way to get that confirmation message back?
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  2.    15 Apr 2018 #2

    Don't know if this will solve your problem, but suggest you uninstall OneDrive, then delete the OneDrive folder in C:\Users\User-name\AppData\Local\Microsoft, and then reinstall OneDrive.
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  3.    15 Apr 2018 #3

    Thank you for replying. I tried your suggestion but unfortunately it didn't work
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  4.    15 Apr 2018 #4

    We're was the file on the PC or on one drive it now keeps files on the one drive and only download when needed that could make a difference as your not deleting a local file
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  5.    15 Apr 2018 #5

    Hey HybridCookie,
    Check this link - Ask before delete files from OneDrive folder.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  6.    15 Apr 2018 #6

    Eagle51 said: View Post
    Hey HybridCookie,
    Check this link - Ask before delete files from OneDrive folder.
    YES! That's it. Thank you so much.

    I did a lot of googling, but clearly wasn't googling the right phrases.
      My ComputerSystem Spec


 

Related Threads
How to Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10 The Recycle Bin provides a safety net when deleting files or folders. When you delete any of these items from your hard disk, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the...
When I start the computer I get a Nag Message from OneDriveto Set Up OneDrive. I want to disable this nag message because I"m not sure I want to use OneDrive right now. How do I stop this message from appearing everytime I start the computer?...
How to Customize Delete Confirmation Dialog Prompt Details in Windows When you delete a single file or folder, the delete confirmation dialog displays basic details (metadata) like the file or folder name, date created, file type, and date...
I want to disable the Permanently Delete Files confirmation How i Can do that?
I have unchecked delete confirmation in the recycle bin properties, but whenever I delete a file or folder on a removable drive or a network drive, the delete confirmation pops up. This does not happen on Windows 7 or 8.
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:13.
Find Us