Odd Restore file, Can I delete it?


  1. Posts : 3
    Windows 10
       #1

    Odd Restore file, Can I delete it?


    Hi Iam new here. I've looked for this subject before but I haven't found anything on point.
    So, I had to do a re-install of my OS windows 10. I started to do it with a recovery usb I made when I first got the laptop but it crashed about 30% into it. After that it wouldn't work at all so I got a factory install usb from the Manufacturer, Asus and used that. It also crashed when it tried to deploy drivercd. I rebooted anyway and got to the Windows screen with System Preparation running. I chose Out-of-the-Box selection and set up windows 10. I got everything running okay and all the diagnostic programs return no problems.
    However, when I go into Disk Management it looks a bit odd. In addition to the usual recovery, system and boot partitions and drives, I have one named RESTORE. It's huge, 95gbs, the SSD is only 250gbs. Also it's nearly empty. The properties show 0 used bytes and 0 free bytes. When I try to run check disk on it nothing happens, check disk just doesn't run on it.
    I suspect it's a recovery partition but why is it so large and so empty? Could it be a mirror image the ASUS usb tried to set up before it failed and just didn't complete?
    After I got everything running the way I want it to, I made a recovery usb using windows 10. If I delete RESTORE can I recover if necessary using the Windows recovery usb, either by doing a complete re-install or just a repare?
    Originally, the laptop came with Windows 7 and I upgraded 10 a long time ago, but the USB ASUS sent installed Windows 10 and I didn't need to upgrade.
    The computer is ASUS K501UX.

    Odd Restore file, Can I delete it?-disk.png
      My Computer

  2. CountMike's Avatar
    Posts : 18,340
    W10+Developer Insider + Linux
       #2

    I suspect that it's original W7 restore partition installed by Asus at the beginning. In that case it would be complete W7 and all programs as installed in the factory in case whole system has to be restored to factory defaults. If that's the case and you don't ever want to go back to it, it can be deleted and made into another partition or merged with another one.
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:54.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums