1. Joined : Oct 2015
    Posts : 12
    Windows 10 build 10240
       03 Nov 2015 #1

    F8 Boot Menu Partition Questions


    Okay, I have decided to get ready to remove my pesky 4.88GB Windows 8.1 Partition (partition 5) from my PC because now I have Windows 10 and no longer have the option to go back. I have used a Command in the Elevated Command Prompt to enable the F8 boot menu as a substitute to the manufacturers boot menu (Press Esc.) I know the boot menu by the manufacturer will be removed with the (partition 5) too. I have also found that the WinRE is on a different partition (partition 4), and so my question is... If I delete the manufacturers partition (p 5), will the F8 menu also be gone as well? It seems the F8 menu was put there by windows and not the manufacturer, but is it on partition 5 or is it on the same one as the WinRE partition (p 4)?
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  2. Joined : Jul 2015
    Posts : 6,881
    Windows 10 Pro
       03 Nov 2015 #2

    From an elevated command prompt ("run as administrator" command prompt), type bcdedit /enum

    The first entry will tell you which partition the BCD (boot files) are located on. If the BCD is on the partition you want to delete, you will have to establish the BCD on another partition first and mark that partition as active.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  3. Joined : Oct 2015
    Posts : 12
    Windows 10 build 10240
       03 Nov 2015 #3

    NavyLCDR said: View Post
    From an elevated command prompt ("run as administrator" command prompt), type bcdedit /enum

    The first entry will tell you which partition the BCD (boot files) are located on. If the BCD is on the partition you want to delete, you will have to establish the BCD on another partition first and mark that partition as active.
    Okay, Does this mean it's on the first partition? And yes I set the Boot Menu to Legacy here to replace the Manufacturers way! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (235).png 
Views:	5 
Size:	62.2 KB 
ID:	46240
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  4. Joined : Jul 2015
    Posts : 6,881
    Windows 10 Pro
       03 Nov 2015 #4

    DDroid said: View Post
    Okay, Does this mean it's on the first partition? And yes I set the Boot Menu to Legacy here to replace the Manufacturers way!
    That's what it looks like to me. Your first partition is probably a small 100 - 350mb partition that contains boot files only - if that is the case then you should be safe to delete the 5th partition without affecting booting.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  5. Joined : Oct 2015
    Posts : 12
    Windows 10 build 10240
       03 Nov 2015 #5

    NavyLCDR said: View Post
    That's what it looks like to me. Your first partition is probably a small 100 - 350mb partition that contains boot files only - if that is the case then you should be safe to delete the 5th partition without affecting booting.
    Here is the partition. (PLEASE IGNORE DISK 2 SAYING "BAD DISK" I am running the Windows 10 Installation Media) So the F8 Boot Menu is in the First Partition? Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (236).png 
Views:	8 
Size:	474.8 KB 
ID:	46241
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  6. Joined : Jul 2015
    Posts : 6,881
    Windows 10 Pro
       03 Nov 2015 #6

    DDroid said: View Post
    Here is the partition. (PLEASE IGNORE DISK 2 SAYING "BAD DISK" I am running the Windows 10 Installation Media) So the F8 Boot Menu is in the First Partition?
    Yes!
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  7. Joined : Oct 2015
    Posts : 12
    Windows 10 build 10240
       04 Nov 2015 #7

    NavyLCDR said: View Post
    Yes!
    Hooray! JUST TO MAKE 100000000% sure! It is super duper ultra really? Finally i can get more space!!
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  8. Joined : Jul 2015
    Posts : 6,881
    Windows 10 Pro
       04 Nov 2015 #8

    DDroid said: View Post
    Hooray! JUST TO MAKE 100000000% sure! It is super duper ultra really? Finally i can get more space!!
    BTW - the Windows 8.1 recovery contained in that partition could still be used after the 30 days upgrade to Windows 10, if you did want to go back.
    Last edited by NavyLCDR; 04 Nov 2015 at 00:46.
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


  9. Joined : Oct 2015
    Posts : 12
    Windows 10 build 10240
       04 Nov 2015 #9

    NavyLCDR said: View Post
    BTW - the Windows 8.1 recovery contained in that partition could still be used after the days upgrade to Windows 10, if you did want to go back.
    Oh, I upgraded 2 months ago LOL. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!! You are the best! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (237).png 
Views:	2 
Size:	441.5 KB 
ID:	46243
      My System SpecsSystem Spec


 


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Solved multi-boot Windows 10 install questions
Currently I have XP Pro 32-bit, XP X64, and Win 7 Pro 64 bit installed on my system. Each OS is installed on a separate hard drive. The system has 4 hard drives (and 5 partitions per drive) and I've setup the 4th hard drive with empty partitions in...
Installation and Setup
Dual Boot win7/10 questions...with clean install
Hello, I recently upgraded my one laptop to windows 10 and thought I was doing a clean install but did not and wound up doing a restore that deleted everything. I downloaded windows 10 via the media creation tool in hopes of doing a clean install...
Installation and Setup
Questions about Windows 8.1 > 10 Upgrade on Dual Boot (Touch) System
Hi, I'm currently run Windows 8.1 Touch on my ASUS VivoBook X202E system. I've upgraded to SSD a few years ago. I'm running Ubuntu along side Win 8.1. It works great and I like this setup. I believe I'll want to prep the system before downloading...
Installation and Setup
Solved Dual Boot Win 7 and Win 10 build 10130 questions
I am trying to get ahead of the game for my wife. We jointly have a laptop on which she uses Win 7. I wanted to try Win 10 Build 10130 ISO so installed it using the tutorial How to Dual Boot Windows 10 with Windows 7 or Windows 8 as a guide....
Installation and Setup
How to boot Win10 without the System Reserved Partition ?
It is possible in Win8. If it is possible in Win10, I'd like to know how.
General Support
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:42.
Find Us
Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 10 Forums