Page 275 of 355 FirstFirst ... 175225265273274275276277285325 ... LastLast
  1.    17 Aug 2017 #2741

    Quote Originally Posted by Cliff S View Post

    Excitement over new hardware is natural
    The nice part with new stuff, is now finding your highest "usable for benchmarking" overclock, and your most stabile(system and the overclock itself)overclock for daily use.
    Have fun finding your limits
    That's one reason I went with an AIO liquid cooler. So I can push its limits. My issue right now is trying to figure out the fan control in bios this system was getting toasty. I still need to add two more exhaust fans as well.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  2.    17 Aug 2017 #2742
    Join Date : Jul 2014
    Serbia
    Posts : 10,415
    W10 Insider + Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by copiertech25 View Post
    That's one reason I went with an AIO liquid cooler. So I can push its limits. My issue right now is trying to figure out the fan control in bios this system was getting toasty. I still need to add two more exhaust fans as well.
    There should be fan control in BIOS. I always set fans at full speed while testing and OCing so heat doesn't interfere with it. What do you have pump connected to and is there any control over its rpms ? With water cooling, good ventilation thru the case is necessary, specially over VRM and chipset. Rad fans don't move as much air as proper case fans do because they are made for higher static pressure, not high flow.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  3.    17 Aug 2017 #2743

    Quote Originally Posted by CountMike View Post
    There should be fan control in BIOS. I always set fans at full speed while testing and OCing so heat doesn't interfere with it. What do you have pump connected to and is there any control over its rpms ? With water cooling, good ventilation thru the case is necessary, specially over VRM and chipset. Rad fans don't move as much air as proper case fans do because they are made for higher static pressure, not high flow.
    I have the pump plugged into the CPU fan. I have control over the RPMs for it. I have two front case fans and am going to put in two top case exhaust fans.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  4.    17 Aug 2017 #2744
    Join Date : Jul 2014
    Serbia
    Posts : 10,415
    W10 Insider + Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by copiertech25 View Post
    I have the pump plugged into the CPU fan. I have control over the RPMs for it. I have two front case fans and am going to put in two top case exhaust fans.
    No, don't with that cooler, connect pump somewhere with constant, full power. Isn't there and AiO_pump or W_pump header on that MB ? Radiator fans you can control according to CPU temperature only if/they is/are connected to CPU_fan connector(s). If not, connect pump to a case fan header or even directly to PSU.
    On most MBs, AiO_pump header has no control at all. W_pump does because it's meant for custom loops with much stronger pumps.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  5.    17 Aug 2017 #2745
    Join Date : Jun 2014
    USA
    Posts : 1,570
    Windows 10 Pro x64

    As CountMike says, make sure you connect the pump to a full powered header or else you risk damaging the pump.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  6.    17 Aug 2017 #2746

    Quote Originally Posted by CountMike View Post
    No, don't with that cooler, connect pump somewhere with constant, full power. Isn't there and AiO_pump or W_pump header on that MB ? Radiator fans you can control according to CPU temperature only if/they is/are connected to CPU_fan connector(s). If not, connect pump to a case fan header or even directly to PSU.
    On most MBs, AiO_pump header has no control at all. W_pump does because it's meant for custom loops with much stronger pumps.
    Thanks guys! This is my first AIO. It does have a w/ pump header but it's at the bottom of the mainboard and the cable is too short. I'll plug it into a fan header.
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  7.    17 Aug 2017 #2747

    Alright I take it back. Got it shutdown and the cable just reached the Pump header. Thanks guys!
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  8.    17 Aug 2017 #2748
    Join Date : May 2015
    Posts : 1,551
    Windows 10 Pro 64

    Quote Originally Posted by Dude View Post
    No,
    .. try nudging your vcore either up or down just a bit. Its the way it reads timings so it needs tweaking sometimes
    So I tried bumping vcore up and down a bit. Time Spy validated only 1 out of 3 but that's my normal "random success". Firestrike failed both times with the time measurement data not available message.

    I played with MSI AB settings - nope. Disabled RTSS by deselecting options in AB - nope. I set everything back to where I had it, including auto on vcore in my "unvalidated bios"and my usual AB RTSS settings. Made one new change and look:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	timespy.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	225.8 KB 
ID:	149343

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	firestrike.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	188.3 KB 
ID:	149344

    Ran each benchmark twice and all four were valid results. What did I do, you ask? Turned OFF Windows 10 game mode.
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  9.    17 Aug 2017 #2749
    Join Date : Oct 2013
    Texas
    Posts : 10,768
    Windows 10 Pro X64

    not sure whats going on

    What settings are you using in AB for Voltage, core, and Memory?
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  10.    17 Aug 2017 #2750
    Join Date : May 2015
    Posts : 1,551
    Windows 10 Pro 64

    Quote Originally Posted by Dude View Post
    not sure whats going on

    What settings are you using in AB for Voltage, core, and Memory?
    I'm not complicating anything bringing an overclock into the mix as I was getting the 3D Mark time measurement error whether I overclock or not. So I tested with vcore adjustments only. Tested with Rivatuner closed only. None of that worked. Turned off Windows 10 game mode and four successes in a row. In AB, voltage, core and memory are at stock of course for stock runs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	msi.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	353.8 KB 
ID:	149356

    Not sure what's going on either. Will do more testing when the validated Asus bios arrives, if ever.
      My ComputerSystem Spec


 


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
CES 2017: G-SYNC HDR Monitors Just Got Better
Source: http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-g-sync-hdr-announced-at-ces-2017
Windows 10 News
Happy 2017
115478 We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our members, dedicated moderators and our admin team for all your continued support. We wish you all a Happy, Healthy and prosperous New Year! Best wishes Angie & John :party:...
Chillout Room
Storage in 2017: Big improvements are on the way
Read more: Storage in 2017: Big improvements are on the way | ZDNet
Windows 10 News
The Demand for GPU's 2016-2017
Hey guy's this post is to get information and thoughts about the current GPU market #1 I find it highly ridiculous the new GPU's released are so hard to get in retail it's making me wonder why it's so hard ? A: Are Vendors purposely messing...
PC Custom Builds and Overclocking
Bitdefender 2017 Beta
Bitdefender 2017 Beta is ready for feedback. Starting July28th you can use your great skills and join the bug hunt. You’ll have the opportunity to test Bitdefender's new security products for Windows, Mac OS, and Android, as well as our improved...
AntiVirus, Firewalls and System Security
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57.
Find Us
Twitter Facebook Google+ Ten Forums iOS App Ten Forums Android App



Windows 10 Forums