Windows 10: Homegroup reappears after doing factory reset

  1.    26 Sep 2016 #1

    Homegroup reappears after doing factory reset


    I performed a factory reset which went fine. When I click on Homegroup it says I can join the one I previously setup on the machine before the factory reset, i.e it is asking me to join my own Homegroup. I do not have the password for my (old) Homegroup.

    I've tried some of the solutions I found on here (deleting files in Appdata/... and stopping the service but the old Homegroup still persists.

    1) Do you usually join your own Homegroup?
    2) Is there a way to get the password?
    3) Can the old Homegroup be erased?
    4) Any other suggestions?

    Thanks for the help.
      My ComputerSystem Spec


  2. Posts : 3,431
    EL Capitan
       26 Sep 2016 #2

    No one uses Homegroup. Majority of us use standard Network Shares. Homegroup has been broken from day one.
      My ComputerSystem Spec


 

Related Threads
Factory reset in Installation and Upgrade
If I did a factory reset on my laptop (which had Windows 8 when I purchased it recently) would it go back to Windows 8 or am I stuck with Windows 10?:(
Solved Reset to factory settings in Installation and Upgrade
Hi,. I have an HP Envy Phoenix with 1 Tb hard drive....64 bit. It was originally a Windows 7 computer that I upgraded to Windows 10. I decided to do a factory reset and set it to start Friday night andwhenI looked at it Saturday it was still...
Getting an infinite loading sort of error where my comp goes to HP loading screen, blackscreen, turns off, and repeats. Very annoying and nothing I've seen so far is working. I don't have a disk or drive to use to reload Windows with, and I didn't...
Factory reset windows 10 in Installation and Upgrade
Hello, I have an old laptop that has windows 10 installed on it. The previous owner did not delete the administrator account, and I do not have the password. Is there any way to factory reset the laptop without the administrator password? Thank you.
Can't factory reset Windows 10. in Installation and Upgrade
Hey guys. Upgraded my laptop to Windows 10 today, but it didn't ask me about whether or not I wanted to keep anything or not.. it just automatically kept my files.. but I wanted it to wipe everything clean with this install. So I'm on Windows 10...
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:19.
Find Us