Should "Everyone" have full permissions ?


  1. Posts : 4
    Windows 10
       #1

    Should "Everyone" have full permissions ?


    Hello,
    I am having some trouble understanding network share permissions. I think I screwed by default settings up.

    I want to give read-only access to a folder so my family members can access my photos, videos etc on the LAN. I don't want to give write permissions for safety/security reasons (cryptolocker etc).

    I have an admin account on my computer named "Bill" (me), and user account named "Mary"

    I right click a folder and select Give Access To > Mary

    Now when I check share permissions of this folder I see that user Everyone has full access. Does this mean anyone on my LAN can read and write to this folder ?

    When I repeated the process on another Windows computer, user Everyone only has read access. Have I screwed something up ?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Should "Everyone" have full permissions ?-untitled.jpg  
      My Computer

  2. NavyLCDR's Avatar
    Posts : 15,784
    Windows 10 Pro
       #2

    In you above example, anyone connecting to the share can read, write, edit, create and delete. The permissions should be changed so only read is checked.
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 4
    Windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Thanks for the reply.

    This is occurring by default though. I can replicate it by creating a new folder, right click > give access to > Mary. Does that mean the inherited permissions for the entire volume are screwed up ?

    --------

    What is funny is that I can now replicate it on a clean install of Windows 10. It seems to occur by default to shared folders that are NOT on the C: drive

    Can someone please test if this is the case ? You can use a thumb drive if you do not have an internal HDD
    -Create new folder (on secondary HDD)
    -Right Click > Give Acess to > User Account
    -Right Click > Sharing > Advanced > Permissions

    Does permissions say that "Everyone" has full control (same as my picture above) ?
      My Computer

  4. NavyLCDR's Avatar
    Posts : 15,784
    Windows 10 Pro
       #4

    It did exactly the same thing on my computer. Give access to a single user resulted in the folder being shared to "Everyone" with full permissions. That seems to be a bug in Windows 10.
      My Computer


  5. Posts : 4
    Windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #5

    Thanks, at least I know I have not screwed something up.

    I will investigate further. Perhaps I am misunderstanding the meaning of this dialogue box.
      My Computer

  6. NavyLCDR's Avatar
    Posts : 15,784
    Windows 10 Pro
       #6

    stratosphere said:
    Thanks, at least I know I have not screwed something up.

    I will investigate further. Perhaps I am misunderstanding the meaning of this dialogue box.
    I don't think you are misunderstanding anything. Windows does not seem to be doing what we tell it to do. This is the result I would expect when I "Give Access To" user Mary:

    Should "Everyone" have full permissions ?-capture.jpg

    I got that result by using the "Remove" button to remove "Everyone", then the "Add" button to add only user Mary, and it defaulted to read only for Mary. Also, the folder "Experiment" was created on the root of a drive which had no previous sharing settings, so there would be no sharing permissions to inherit.
      My Computer


  7. Posts : 4
    Windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #7

    Yes, it is a strange one. It does not occur when I share a folder on the C: drive (eg users\Me\Desktop). Only when I share a folder that resides on my secondary HDD.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums