The product we use to use it disabled everything when you started the VPN tunnel. You couldn't access any ports or drives.

When you shut down the PC went back to normal.

Has been 10 years since I was involved, likely people found ways around the security so the new products have become draconian. Still they should warn and explain how to remove.