SMBv1 client uninstalled if not used for 15 days


  1. Posts : 11,203
    Windows / Linux : Arch Linux
       #1

    SMBv1 client uninstalled if not used for 15 days


    Hi there

    just another little annoyance on Networking from Ms.

    Hidden away in small print on the Ms site is this :

    ....Windows 10 Home and Windows 10 Professional still contain the SMBv1 client by default after a clean installation. If the SMBv1 client is not used for 15 days in total (excluding the computer being turned off), it automatically uninstalls itself.......

    Sometimes people legitimately don't use computers for a while -- if I install a feature I should decide whether or not to uninstall it -- or at the very least get a message containing something like "You haven't used xxxxxxx for a while - do you want to uninstall it".

    Cheers
    jimbo
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 258
    Windows 10 Pro
       #2

    Microsoft turning into the younger sibling who sees the food you left in the fridge being saved and eats it lol
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 13,667
    Windows10
       #3

    jimbo45 said:
    Hi there

    just another little annoyance on Networking from Ms.

    Hidden away in small print on the Ms site is this :

    ....Windows 10 Home and Windows 10 Professional still contain the SMBv1 client by default after a clean installation. If the SMBv1 client is not used for 15 days in total (excluding the computer being turned off), it automatically uninstalls itself.......

    Sometimes people legitimately don't use computers for a while -- if I install a feature I should decide whether or not to uninstall it -- or at the very least get a message containing something like "You haven't used xxxxxxx for a while - do you want to uninstall it".

    Cheers
    jimbo
    Yeah that is bizarre. But it does say excluding the computer being turned off ie this would only kick on of you left it on for 15 days and smbv1 client was never used. Whilst annoying perhaps I can see why it is done. If you left a pc on accidentally, thinking it was shutdown, risk increases over time of being hacked.



    The thing that does need to be tested is if the new autostart app feature interferes as that does not do a full shutdown. If it did, and you did not use smbv1 client, it would auto delete every 15 days.

    Problem is the way MS have done it is safer albeit heavy handed perhaps.
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 26,388
    Win11 Pro, Win10 Pro N, Win10 Home, Windows 8.1 Pro, Ubuntu
       #4

    It's for non-techie protection.
    Because if it isn't used or really needed(older NAS systems for example) it gets uninstalled as it is a dangerous security issue: https://www.google.de/search?q=SMBv1...hrome&ie=UTF-8
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:20.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums