Problem with Outlook 2016 not remembering default PDF app choice

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

1. Posts : 376
    Windows 10.0.19043.2006

Problem with Outlook 2016 not remembering default PDF app choice

I have a customer who subscribed to Office 365 and downloaded the Office 2016 applications. She also has Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. She is using Outlook for email and when she opens PDF attachments Outlook shows a list of apps which could be used. Adobe Acrobat Reader is shown as the default PDF handler at the top of the list (I confirmed by checking the file associations for all Acrobat file types). There's a box at the bottom of the list that says "remember this choice" and the problem is Outlook doesn't remember. Every time she tries to open a PDF attachment Outlook shows the list. The PDFs do open, but it's a nuisance that I want to try to fix. TIA for any help.
      My Computer

2. Posts : 30,189
    Windows 11 Pro x64 Version 23H2

I might try setting the default to something else, restarting and then changing to Adobe. Hopefully all flags will be set properly.

Ken
      My Computer

3. Posts : 376
    Windows 10.0.19043.2006

Caledon Ken said:
    I might try setting the default to something else, restarting and then changing to Adobe. Hopefully all flags will be set properly.

Ken
    Thanks for the suggestion. I wonder though if the issue actually has anything to do with the Adobe Reader? When I first observed the problem Edge was showing as the default PDF reader in Outlook's drop down list. It was possible to select Adobe Reader from the list, but even though we put a check in the box for Outlook to remember the choice it didn't. After setting the Adobe Reader as the default in Control Panel/Default Programs/ the icon on PDF files changed to the Adobe Reader icon and it replaced Edge as the first app in Outlook's drop down list, however Outlook continues to ask and doesn't save the choice.