Sysprep windows10 v1909 on lenovo T590 or X1 carbon


  1. Posts : 22
    windows 10
       #1

    Sysprep windows10 v1909 on lenovo T590 or X1 carbon


    Hello All,

    I was needing some assistance and hoping I can get some input. I have a lenovo T590 and lenovo X1 carbon models. I have updated both models to windows 10 v.1909 as they had the previous v.1903. When I go to sysprep the machines I seem to be having trouble and not understanding what is going on. Once sysprep is complete then I capture the image and it finishes successfully. Once I image the laptop with my version of sysprep it doesn't seem to work correctly. I notice that it comes up with the screen as if just came from the factory setting it up for the first time. I was able to sysprep a Dell 5500 model with windows 10v.1909 with no issues at all it came up exactly how I had prepared it.

    Also, I notice a few of the icons are missing from the desktop that I had made shortcuts. The start menu, one icon is missing from there as well as I had created my own startlayout.xml, but there is one icon missing. I have been banging my head as to why this is not working on a lenovo, but it worked just fine on a Dell laptop. I feel maybe there are some settings in BIOS that perhaps need to get shutoff or maybe I am missing something here. I take it since there is a difference in manufacturers that perhaps something needs to get set first before proceeding?

    As I stated I sysprep a Dell 5500 model with windows 10v.1909 with no issues what so ever.
      My Computer

  2. Megahertz's Avatar
    Posts : 2,385
    Windows 7 HP 64 - Windows 10 Pro - Lubuntu
       #2

    I did not understand what you want to archive with Sysprep.
    Can you please explain what you want to do once you enter Audit mode?
      My Computers


  3. Posts : 22
    windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Did you read my posting correctly? I NEVER said I wanted to archive something with sysprep.
    I enter into Audit mode so that way I can create the image the way I want it. Once I am complete with that I sysprep it. Next after that, I capture the image and it states that it has completed successfully.
    I put the image on a usb stick run the install and for some reason the machine does not turn out the way I had prepared the image. However, with Dell I was able to sysprep the machine with no issues. It makes me wonder that possibly it COULD be something hardware wise not really sure.
      My Computer

  4. Megahertz's Avatar
    Posts : 2,385
    Windows 7 HP 64 - Windows 10 Pro - Lubuntu
       #4

    Yes, I read your post correctly.
    I still don't understand what you do once you're in Audit mode.
    " I enter into Audit mode so that way I can create the image the way I want it. Once I am complete with that I sysprep it."
      My Computers


  5. Posts : 22
    windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #5

    So where in my post did I say ARCHIVE?

    What you said: "I did not understand what you want to archive with Sysprep"

    - - - Updated - - -

    Well if you don't understand what I am doing in Audit mode you must not understand what is going on during that process.
      My Computer

  6. Megahertz's Avatar
    Posts : 2,385
    Windows 7 HP 64 - Windows 10 Pro - Lubuntu
       #6

    Sorry for my miss spelling. I meant achieve, not archive.

    I have used Sysprep and I know what it can do. Just did not understand your problem.

    I hope others can help you with it.
      My Computers


  7. Posts : 22
    windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #7

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
    <SystemLocale>EN-US</SystemLocale>
    <UILanguage>EN-US</UILanguage>
    <UILanguageFallback>EN-US</UILanguageFallback>
    <UserLocale>EN-US</UserLocale>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <OOBE>
    <VMModeOptimizations>
    <SkipAdministratorProfileRemoval>false</SkipAdministratorProfileRemoval>
    </VMModeOptimizations>
    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
    <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
    <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
    <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
    <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
    <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
    <UnattendEnableRetailDemo>false</UnattendEnableRetailDemo>
    </OOBE>
    <UserAccounts>
    <LocalAccounts>
    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
    <Description>Local admin account</Description>
    <DisplayName>Admin</DisplayName>
    <Group>Administrators</Group>
    <Name>Admin</Name>
    </LocalAccount>
    </LocalAccounts>
    </UserAccounts>
    <RegisteredOrganization>Company</RegisteredOrganization>
    <RegisteredOwner></RegisteredOwner>
    <TimeZone>Central Standard Time</TimeZone>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <OEMInformation>
    <Manufacturer></Manufacturer>
    <Model></Model>
    <SupportHours></SupportHours>
    <SupportPhone>IT number</SupportPhone>
    <SupportProvider>IT</SupportProvider>
    <SupportURL></SupportURL>
    </OEMInformation>
    <ComputerName>*</ComputerName>
    <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
    <OEMName></OEMName>
    <RegisteredOrganization>Company</RegisteredOrganization>
    <RegisteredOwner></RegisteredOwner>
    <TimeZone>Central Standard time</TimeZone>
    </component>
    </settings>
    </unattend>

    - - - Updated - - -

    Above is the answer file I have used on Dell laptops 5500 with no issues at all. I have tried to use this same answer file on lenovo T590, but it will not work. I have noticed that I do see some icons from the image, but it doesn't fully loaded not sure what is going on.
    Last edited by jchambers777; 06 Mar 2020 at 07:28.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:20.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums