How to preserve the default Start Menu layout when customizing image?


  1. Posts : 5
    Windows 10 Pro 1809 build 17763.168
       #1

    How to preserve the default Start Menu layout when customizing image?


    I installed the current version of Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (v1809 updated to build 17763.134) in a virtual machine with an autounattend.xml script booting into Audit Mode after first reboot to customize the image!

    I then installed all the updates for Windows and Modern Apps in Audit Mode and I changed a few settings (I didn't pin/unpin any Apps to the Start Menu as I would like to preserve the Default Layout)! I used an unattend.xml during SysPrep which copies my customized settings to the Default user account (CopyProfile)! After capture, I booted into the customised image and completed OOBE and I found that the new user account has my customized settings, but some of the apps pinned to the Start Menu by default wasn't pinned anymore or was displaying a download button which opens the Tips app with the following message: "What's going on with my Apps? If apps on the Start menu donít open while youíre setting up your PC or they display the download icon, sit tight. Most likely, the app is being installed or updated and it will be available soon"!

    How can I preserve the default start menu layout during he customisation process? Keep in mind that I am using the CopyProfile option with SysPrep!

    Please, I would just like the simplest solution to preserve the Windows Default Start Menu Layout during customization (Audit Mode) and SysPrep!
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 2
    windows 10
       #2

    Solved.

    I had same problem but without ( unattend.xml )when I am trying to prepare sysprep for Windows 10 (version 1809), it removes start menu shortcuts and other user customizations. I solved this problem by creating a user and installing all software, customizing shortcuts instart menu, setting internet properties, arrange desktop icons, set Language and region and so on. Then after finishing all my needs I disabled this user , and open other user to make sysprep for the windows 10.

    So, after you restore this windows to any computer go to enable the old user which you disabled before and you will see everything you did like icons and other customization for this user same without any changes.

    Now you can stay with this user and delete other users you created.

    Hope this helped you
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:20.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums