Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    1 Week Ago #1
    Join Date : Nov 2017
    Posts : 7
    Window 10

    My problem is Bios, F12 and boot disc


    Hello my Tohru am new to window 10, I am having a problem get my back up. I have Norton Ghost that is my boot Disc. I can't get it to work. Here are my issue Bios: Security Tab no up or down arrow to move in that bios. F12 no boot menu to boot to cd/dvd. Bootable disk is OEM Norton Ghost 15.0. Can you help me.
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  2.    1 Week Ago #2
    Join Date : Oct 2016
    Caledon, Ontario, Canada
    Posts : 4,098
    Windows 10 Pro Build 1703

    Hi Tohru1529. Welcome to the TenForums @Tohru1529

    Are you referencing the Aspire E5-575G listed in your specs.

    According to manual you enter BIOS using F2 and set the boot order there. Page 38

    https://global-download.acer.com/GDF...376.1498679800

    Ken
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  3.    1 Week Ago #3
    Join Date : Apr 2017
    Posts : 8,861
    windows 10 professional version 1607 build 14393.969 64 bit

    The computer manufacturer is ACER.

    See this link for the boot menu:

    List of PC brands with their corresponding hot-keys

    F9, F12, ESC
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  4.    1 Week Ago #4
    Join Date : Jul 2016
    Crewe Cheshire
    Posts : 1,466
    windows 10

    There seems to be a debate if Norton works on Windows 10 lot of users on their forums saying it doesnt work. Why are you booting a dvd not running it in windows?
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  5.    1 Week Ago #5
    Join Date : Nov 2017
    Posts : 7
    Window 10
    Thread Starter

    Quote Originally Posted by Caledon Ken View Post
    Hi Tohru1529. Welcome to the TenForums @Tohru1529

    Are you referencing the Aspire E5-575G listed in your specs.

    According to manual you enter BIOS using F2 and set the boot order there. Page 38

    https://global-download.acer.com/GDF...376.1498679800

    Ken
    thank for the manual, my laptop did not come with one.
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  6.    1 Week Ago #6
    Join Date : Nov 2017
    Posts : 7
    Window 10
    Thread Starter

    Quote Originally Posted by zbook View Post
    The computer manufacturer is ACER.

    See this link for the boot menu:

    List of PC brands with their corresponding hot-keys

    F9, F12, ESC
    thank you
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  7.    1 Week Ago #7
    Join Date : Nov 2017
    Posts : 7
    Window 10
    Thread Starter

    Here is the photo in my boot menu. Its not showing norton ghost at all. The cd is in there. Please tell me what to do.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_20171110_183208.jpg   IMG_20171110_183249.jpg  
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  8.    1 Week Ago #8
    Join Date : Oct 2016
    Caledon, Ontario, Canada
    Posts : 4,098
    Windows 10 Pro Build 1703

    It is showing devices, device 1 is your cd.
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  9.    1 Week Ago #9
    Join Date : Jun 2016
    Los Angeles
    Posts : 1,043
    Windows 10 Pro

    In the Boot tab, use your arrow key on the keyboard and highlight Secure Boot and press enter. If it is enabled, using your Enter and Arrow keys Disable it or change it to Setup Mode.
    If you have the bootable CD in the CD drive, under the boot tab, choose ATAPI CD rom, Move this to First Boot Device, Press F10 to Save and Exit. If using a USB Bootable Flash drive, select USB Hard Drive, Save and Exit. Or you can press F12 and it will show the Bootable devices now.
      My ComputerSystem Spec
  10.    1 Week Ago #10
    Join Date : Nov 2017
    Posts : 7
    Window 10
    Thread Starter

    Quote Originally Posted by Caledon Ken View Post
    It is showing devices, device 1 is your cd.
    thank you
      My ComputerSystem Spec

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Solved Win 10 Bios Boot Config doesn't show DVD as boot option
Windows 10 32 bit ASUS MB ASUS DVD. Unable to select DVD as 1st boot or any other option. DVD doesn't appear as an option when configuring. DVD is functioning with an assigned drive letter. Only Removable, CD, HD, and disabled are options. How would...
Drivers and Hardware
Can't change computer bios to boot from disc
I want to format and partition my hard drive and install a fresh copy of Windows 10 Problem: I can't change computer to boot from Drive instead of hard drive. When I restart and tap on excape or F9 F10 or F12 it just keeps coming up as a...
General Support
Windows Boot Manager in BIOS boots only at Boot position 1
I need to put the Windows OS, that means Windows Boot Manager in BIOS at Boot option 2, but in this case it does not boot. I need to put at boot position 1 PXE boot and if that fails boot from Boot option 2 (Windows). How could I do that? My...
Installation and Upgrade
Ubuntu Boot option still available in UEFI BIOS after Dual Boot
Recently I played around with dual booting Linux Mint on my system. I decided that I would delete it for the present as I have other things to focus on. However, after deleting partitions and fixing my MBR to only boot windows my UEFI BIOS still...
General Support
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:53.
Find Us
Twitter Facebook Google+ Ten Forums iOS App Ten Forums Android App



Windows 10 Forums