Anniversary update reverts personalized settings


  1. Posts : 3
    Windows 10 Pro
       #1

    Anniversary update reverts personalized settings


    After upgrading Windows 10 Pro version 1511 to 1607 (which is in fact a true in-place upgrade of Windows) I noticed that several of my personalized settings are reverted to their default values! What a disaster although I consider myself lucky because I carefully document every setting of my PC.


    Here's some of the settings that were reverted:


    In All Settings / Update & Security / Advanced options
    I had selected "Give me updates for other Microsoft products when I update Windows" but after the anniversary update the setting was deselected

    I had set the value of HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop to 1 to paint the version on my desktop but after the anniversary update the setting was set back to 0


    Apps I had uninstalled via a PowerShell command such as 3D builder , Get Office (while Office 2016 WAS ALREADY installed!) etc are again installed


    I had removed the Fax , XPS printers , the anniversary update brought them back


    In control panel / System / Advanced System settings / System Protection was enabled for drive C: , after the anniversary upgrade it was disabled again


    In All settings / Time & Language / Set Timezone automatically was set to ON but the upgrade reverted it to OFF


    The Store icon was again pinned to my taskbar after the upgrade


    Control Panel / Autoplay was set to "Ask me every time" for both Removable drives & Memory Cards; after the upgrade it was set to "Choose a default"


    IE11 again started with the option to use or not use recommended settings, I previously selected not to use recommended settings & then only selected to turn on Smart Screen filter; the upgrade disabled the Smartscreen filter


    Control Panel / Sound / Recording / Internal Microphone / Properties / Advanced: I had disabled audio enhancements but the upgrade re-enabled the setting.


    So it's quite a pain to upgrade because you can't be sure how your PC is actually configured after the upgrade... It can actually be dangerous imho.


    What could be causing this ? I'm simply working in a workgroup environment.
      My Computer

  2. Bastet's Avatar
    Posts : 1,719
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
       #2

    Yes I too noticed several things had returned to default settings. I noticed too that SR was off on C & the 'give me updates for other MS products' had to be enabled too. I haven't checked fast boot but I suspect that's been enabled again too.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums