DISK CLEANUP WIPED out my entire "DOCUMENTS" FOLDER


  1. Posts : 139
    Home
       #1

    DISK CLEANUP WIPED out my entire "DOCUMENTS" FOLDER


    I had no idea 'DISK CLEANUP" on my ROOT DISK would totally wipe my "DOCUMENTS" Folder and some extremely important files, all it left was a 'desktop'ini'. It did not touch my DOWNLOADS folder. Does anyone know why it would do this? Can I not trust it any more? AND why would it do this?
    Also, I have tried to compare two DISKS and put them 'side by side' with 'Window Explorer' windows. It refused by constantly making one FULL windows when I tried to move it in position.
    I have tried to find out if there is any way to remove or disable the "artificial intelligence" in Windows to make it stop anticipation doing what IT THINKS I WANT TO DO AND DO WHAT I TELL IT TO DO like making windows FULL if I touch them with a Mouse.
    WINDOWS VERSION 20H2 [OS BUILD 19042.1110]
    DELL version on a DELL Inspiron 5593
      My Computer

  2. Macboatmaster's Avatar
    Posts : 1,194
    11, 10, 8.1 and 7 all Professional versions, and Linux Mint
       #2

    Disk Cleanup if you refer to the Windows included disk cleanup OR the windows 10 specific - Storage Sense - cannot as far as I know wipe - clean the documents folder if it is in the correct place, the option is not available on disk cleanup and on storage sense it requires as per my screenshot
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DISK CLEANUP WIPED out my entire "DOCUMENTS" FOLDER-disk-clean.jpg  
      My Computer

  3. spunk's Avatar
    Posts : 3,071
    Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 20H2
       #3

    Disk Cleanup does not delete any User files, though it might have deleted the shortcut to Documents you created.
    Browse to C:\Users\[UserName] you should see your User files (ie) Documents, Desktop, Downloads etc.
    As for viewing 2 windows side by side click the Yellow File Explorer icon in the taskbar and choose the drive and directory you want. Press the middle Unmaximize button on the upper right, put your pointer on the lower right corner of the window till it turns into a double sided arrow and resize the window so it takes up half the screen. Go to the Yellow File Explorer icon and Right click it and choose to make a new File Explorer window, this should overlap the first window, so grab the title bar and drag so it takes up the other side of the screen, choose which ever directory or drive in that window to compare files and drag and drop between the two.
      My Computer

  4. Macboatmaster's Avatar
    Posts : 1,194
    11, 10, 8.1 and 7 all Professional versions, and Linux Mint
       #4

    Further to my first reply
    IF your docs were in the windows old folder, following an install of 20H2 or whatever version you have now and you were using diskcleanup to - clean AFTER that installation of the OS version - that was not the upgrade via windows updates, then if the disk cleanup was used in admin mode the windows old folder is included and deleting that would delete the docs folder and of course all of the windows old.

    I will stand corrected but that is the only way I can see it happening with disk cleanup - apart from the mention I made in the first reply of the docs folder having some unusual location/name etc.
      My Computer

  5. AddRAM's Avatar
    Posts : 4,273
    Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
       #5
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:06.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums