Disable unwanted warning when deleting items

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Mustang's Avatar
    Posts : 142
    Windows 7 and 8
       #1

    Disable unwanted warning when deleting items


    In the Windows 10 Recycle Bin properties, both options to warn against mistaken deletion, have been unticked.

    Yet despite this, every time I drag/drop a file/folder on the desktop to the recycle bin an unwanted warning comes up saying this item may be a danger to the OS.

    If I right click the item, and select delete, it goes straight to the recycle bin without any warning.

    I have run sfc, and turned off UAC, as well as various options in Security Policy related to UAC. And all to no avail.

    Google research has many posts on this issue, but no simple solution other than editing the register.

    Has anyone got a simply solution to this problem?
      My Computer

  2. Try3's Avatar
    Posts : 7,411
    Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 Build 19042.868
       #2

    Please could you provide an example of an item this is happening with and post a screenshot showing the warning that appears.

    Denis
      My Computer

  3. Ztruker's Avatar
    Posts : 13,505
    Windows 10 Pro X64 20H4 19042.746
       #3

    Sounds more like a Anti-virus warning than a OS warning.
      My Computers

  4. Mustang's Avatar
    Posts : 142
    Windows 7 and 8
    Thread Starter
       #4

    This is a copy of the warning:

    Disable unwanted warning when deleting items-warning.png

    This warning appears, if for example I drag/drop a folder to the recycle bin.

    If I click "OK", it deletes it to the recycle bin.

    If I right click the folder, and click "Delete" in the drop down menu, it does not appear.
      My Computer

  5. Try3's Avatar
    Posts : 7,411
    Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 Build 19042.868
       #5

    This has nothing to do with your Recycle bin or UAC settings so you can return those to normal.

    I only see this warning if I move files from my IE Favourites folder. Have you relocated the Favourites folder for any browser to your Desktop?

    Are these files downloads? Have they been unblocked?

    Denis
      My Computer

  6. Mustang's Avatar
    Posts : 142
    Windows 7 and 8
    Thread Starter
       #6

    No they are not downloaded files, and not blocked. It occurs for any file/folder on my desktop.

    For example, if I create a new folder on the desktop by right clicking on a blank space on the desktop, and selecting: "New > Folder".

    And then drag/drop it to the recycle bin. The warning appears.

    I found many posts on Google addressing the problem. But the only suggested solution was to change a registry item.

    I was hoping for a more simple way to stop it.
      My Computer

  7. Andrew129260's Avatar
    Posts : 191
    Windows 10 Pro x64 latest version
       #7

    thats not normal behavior. Go to the old control panel > internet options and choose advanced > restore advanced settings.

    It is also possible your user profile is messed up and needs to be recreated.
      My Computers

  8. Try3's Avatar
    Posts : 7,411
    Windows 10 Home x64 Version 20H2 Build 19042.868
       #8

    Try3 said:
    I only see this warning if I move files from my IE Favourites folder. Have you relocated the Favourites folder for any browser to your Desktop?
    Denis
      My Computer


  9. Posts : 638
    Win10 x64 Pro - 2 desktops, 2 laptops
       #9

    I know the following is of no use whatsoever, but ...

    In the past (maybe back on Win7) I would see this popup when doing just about anything with files on an unmapped NAS drive. Windows seemed to think that anything accessed by a UNC path (rather than a drive letter) was from the internet and therefore suspect. And I vaguely recall that the "unclean" attribute stuck with the file when copied to a local drive.

    Maybe you've managed to attach that attribute to everything on your desktop. (That is a feeble guess based on ignorance.)

    I haven't seen that for years so it either (usually) does not happen on Win10 or I found some option to eliminate the warning.
      My Computer

  10. Bree's Avatar
    Posts : 18,617
    10 Home x64 (20H2) (10 Pro on 2nd pc)
       #10

    Mustang said:
    This is a copy of the warning:
    Disable unwanted warning when deleting items-warning.png
    This warning appears, if for example I drag/drop a folder to the recycle bin..

    That warning appears if any file is marked as having come from another computer. Such files are marked as 'Blocked' in their properties Typically files downloaded from the internet are blocked. They can easily be unblocked.

    Unblock File in Windows 10

      My Computers


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums