How can I stop photos on my main laptop being shared with my #2 laptop


  1. Posts : 197
    Windows 10 v2004 build 19041.329
       #1

    How can I stop photos on my main laptop being shared with my #2 laptop


    Last year I bought the cheapest laptop that I could find to use in case a WU trashed my main laptop. (It was a godsend - how else could I have got online help when it actually happened.) At that time, I added Office365 to it including OneDrive. Although I don't remember telling OneDrive to share my photos with it, it did.

    When Office was due for renewal this month I uninstalled Office365 from my spare - I don't use/need it - & this enabled me to renew at a much lower cost using Office 365 Home Personal, not Premium. For the limited use I have for it, I'm trying Libre and am impressed. I uninstalled/deleted everything I could find that emanated from Office.

    I've now decided to buy a better spare laptop although I still won't need Office - I've agreed with a local charity to donate my old laptop to them & have given them a list of providers of mainstream programs that Microsoft and others provide free of charge to charities.

    But I have one problem - when I hit the Start button on the #2 laptop, under Play top right the photos are still appearing. I've googled and it seems that I must use this, my main laptop, to change the settings/permissions/sharing etc. Sounds simple but I'm blowed if I can find where/how. I'd appreciate your help please. Thank you.
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 4,176
    Windows 10 Pro x64 Latest RP
       #2

    There are two main options, potentially, assuming you are running Windows 10 to clear the spare for gifting

    Option 1
    Use windows built-in reset to set the operating back to an unused state for "resale" Reset Windows 10 Installation Upgrade Tutorials

    Option 2
    Most laptops sold by OEM companions do not include an OS install disk but do include a system to reset to factory condition ( as it was when you first recieved it ). Check the system documentation for how to access this - you may need to check on their online support site but is often a case of tapping a key or combination of keys

    Both these methods will remove all traces of your use from the laptop and once the spare laptop is reset the main laptop will complain that it cannot share files anymore and you can just accept this. If this does not happen you should be able to log into OneDrive online and remove the laptop from the set of shared devices
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums