I've got a laptop that I can't remember the Sync passphrase. Chrome has been reinstalled and I want to restore my Chrome data, extensions etc that are sync'd. dwd

Google say's I will need to reset Sync. Under Chrome's Sync settings page it say's:

"Reset sync to clear your data from the server and remove your passphrase. This will not clear data from your devices. Sign back in to Chrome to start syncing."

This implies that the sync data will be erased from the Google server and that sync will start off fresh again. I don;t want that, I need the sync'd data...

I notice that I can download the Chrome sync'd data from Google account dashboard but I do I restore it to Chrome?