Macrium Reflect Free restore - some questions.


  1. Posts : 133
    Windows 10 Home 64bit 22H2
       #1

    Macrium Reflect Free restore - some questions.


    Hi, I have some question about restore:

    1. In partitions tab "Copy selected partitions when I click Next" is checked checkbox by default. That means if i want do Windows restore with all partitions, I only need hit "Next"? Is this the same as copy all partitions?

    2. Do I have to delete all partitions on target disc before restore?

    3. If I not delete partitions before restore, old data will remain on disc? For example if I install new program, but after my image backup, then I restore, does this program keep here? Or recovered partition is always erased first, which allows restore Windows to exactly same state when backup was created?

    Thank you.
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 43,282
    Win 10 Pro (22H2) (2nd PC is 22H2)
       #2

    1:
    Restoring an image from Windows - Knowledgebase 8.0 - Macrium Reflect Knowledgebase
    Moving and Resizing the restored partition
    To restore partitions, select Copy Partitions, you can then select Exact partition offset and length to restore the partitions to the same location on the target disk, or select Shrink or extend to fill the target disk to resize the partitions automatically to fit the target. It's also possible to select a different target disk and to drag partitions to different locations, and resize them manually them to use the available space. Simply drag the source partition to any available partition or free space on the target disk
    2.: no

    3:
    Restoring images
    Macrium Reflect restores disks or their partitions exactly as they were when the backup was taken. The restore
    process also enables you to expand or shrink partitions if the restore target is a new disk and a different size to the
    original.
    From pg 6 of the user manual (via link from program's GUI)
    https://updates.macrium.com/reflect/...user_guide.pdf
      My Computers


  3. Posts : 23,606
    Win 10 Home ♦♦♦19045.4529 (x64) [22H2]
       #3
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 133
    Windows 10 Home 64bit 22H2
    Thread Starter
       #4

    So in short, all new data created after backup, will not be present after restore right? I need to know, when i use restore, if this only copy data from backup to target disc and overwrite files with the same name and newer files let where they are or restore wipe that partition first, then copy content of image backup.
      My Computer


  5. Posts : 23,606
    Win 10 Home ♦♦♦19045.4529 (x64) [22H2]
       #5

    TheOwner said:
    So in short, all new data created after backup, will not be present after restore right?
    Correct. When you restore from a backup... it takes you back to the day you made the backup.

    I need to know, when i use restore, if this only copy data from backup to target disc and overwrite files with the same name and newer files let where they are or restore wipe that partition first, then copy content of image backup.
    When you restore from a backup, it "overwrites" the Windows partitions, with those in the backup image.





    I repeat... "When you restore from a backup... it takes you back to the day you made the backup."
    It's like a time machine.

    If you made the backup two weeks ago... when you restore from that backup, your Windows drive will be like it was... two weeks ago.






    It's "like" System Restore, but....

    1. System restore "merges" the restore point with the current Windows.
    2. Backup software "overwrites" the current Windows with the backup image.

    Backup software is better, because it "erases" (overwrites), corrupted files or infections.


    Macrium Reflect Free restore - some questions.-backup-software.png
      My Computer


  6. Posts : 133
    Windows 10 Home 64bit 22H2
    Thread Starter
       #6

    Now i understand, thank you.
      My Computer


  7. Posts : 15,538
    Windows10
       #7

    TheOwner said:
    Now i understand, thank you.
    Data added since the backup is only wiped if it is on the drives included in the backup.

    I always keep my data on a separate drive for this reason (my E drive) and my E drive is not backed up by Reflect.
    I do backup the E drive (of course) to an external usb drive.

    The advantage of keeping data on a separate drive is it keeps the image backup of the C drive (plus hidden partitions) lean and mean.

    If you keep all your data on the C drive, the image backups just inexorably grow over time.

    You must of course backup your data drive periodically as well to another drive (not C drive).
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:30.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums