Safely Delete Windows Image Backup


  1. Posts : 172
    Windows 10
       #1

    Safely Delete Windows Image Backup


    I made a system image backup on 8/6, and renamed my computer on 8/10.

    I made another system image backup on 8/12.

    Now I have two folders under the WindowsImageBackup directory--one with the old computer name, and the other one with the new name.

    Under the old computer name, there's a subdirectory called "Backup 2015-08-07 042325". Inside this folder, there's a huge file that's 67 GB large.

    Is it safe to delete the system image under the old computer name? What is the safest way to delete this folder and reclaim hard drive space?
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 2,790
    Linux Mint 20.1 Win10Prox64
       #2

    Right click on the folder->Delete. Just like you delete anything else.
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 172
    Windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Inside the 8/6 folder, there are some files that are modified on 8/12. I am concerned that deleting the earlier system image would corrupt the newer system image as well.

    I just want to confirm that it's safe before deleting things.
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 2,790
    Linux Mint 20.1 Win10Prox64
       #4

    If you created the 2nd backup as full backup then you can safely delete the first one. I am not sure about the modified time on the first backup. Did you schedule the backup as incremental backup ?

    Personally, I use macrium Macrium Reflect Free to create a backup image. Which only creates a single file, easier to handle while Windows built in backup created multiple files and if any one of those files is corrupted/Missing then the restore will fail. In addition, Windows built in backup has no way to verify whether the backup is any good.
      My Computer


  5. Posts : 172
    Windows 10
    Thread Starter
       #5

    I created the second system image as a full backup. I deleted the first backup.

    I also read this from f14tomcat in another thread:

    2. If you are using Windows native backup (System Image) and/or native file backup (File History), they will start fresh. File History will warn you and give you a chance to include previous file history it has found. System Image Backup will create a new folder under existing folder "WindowsImageBackup" named as your new computer name. Both will be available if you do a System Image Restore from Recovery options, but choosing an image from the previous computer name will restore the image and your computer will be renamed to the previous name.
    I feel pretty safe to remove the first system image under the old computer name.

    Thank you for your suggestion regarding Macrium Reflect. I'll check it out.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums