Accidentally Merged User Profile Folder With Video Folder


  1. Posts : 1
    Windows 10
       #1

    Accidentally Merged User Profile Folder With Video Folder


    Basically what its said on the tin. I merged that folder with the Video folder when I was moving said video folder from D: back to C:

    To be specific it was the named folder. The "Owner" folder. I tried moving everything from that folder into a new one labeled "ST" after my initials but now every time I'm downloading something its giving me messages saying I dont have permission from the administrator.

    I wanna know if this can be undone or fixed or not.

    Thank you in advance.
    Windows 10 of course. Specifically Version 1903.
      My Computer

  2. Barman58's Avatar
    Posts : 3,985
    Windows 10 Pro x64 2004 - 19041 - 264 XP/Vista/Win7/Win8.1 in VM for testing
       #2

    What I would suggest is that you create another user, and transfer the contents of the old corrupt user into the relevant folders into the new user folders,

    It may be possible to unscramble what you have, but would not be simple to do or that reliable.

    In order to move the sub-folders and files, (you should not try to move the user folders - Documents Etc), you can simply run Explorer.exe as an administrator from the new user account, or enable the hidden administrator and use that to move things around.

    You may need to take ownership of some of the old folders or files from the new user account - this can be done from the Properties/Security Tab and selecting the option to cascade down through the folders
      My Computers

  3. dalchina's Avatar
    Posts : 31,239
    Win 10 Pro (1903)
       #3

    To protect yourself against such mistakes, disk failure and in a number of circumstances avoid a clean install etc etc.. you should be using disk imaging routinely as is endlessly recommended on tenforums - e.g. Macrium reflect (free/paid) + external storage for image files.

    Then correcting these becomes mere mechanics- restoring partitions from the image files- no tech help needed.

    Assuming you used the Location tab, the tutorials here include appropriate warning, which I suggested be added, having seen the sort of mistakes people can make.
      My Computers

  4. Bree's Avatar
    Posts : 19,681
    10 Home x64 (21H1) (10 Pro on 2nd pc)
       #4

    Stiban said:
    Basically what its said on the tin. I merged that folder with the Video folder when I was moving said video folder from D: back to C:
    To be specific it was the named folder. The "Owner" folder. I tried moving everything from that folder into a new one labeled "ST" after my initials but now every time I'm downloading something its giving me messages saying I dont have permission from the administrator.

    I wanna know if this can be undone or fixed or not.

    Thank you in advance.
    Windows 10 of course. Specifically Version 1903.

    I know from your messages that you have already seen my tutorial Undo: Merged your Pictures folder with your User folder

    That one was difficult enough to disentangle, but simple in comparison to what you say you have done. The user that inspired that tutorial had just merged one folder 'Pictures' with their user profile folder, but you have tried to move your user profile to a new folder too. I'm not sure I can diagnose the steps you took, let alone recreate them to see if they can be undone.

    I agree with Barman58, by far the easiest and most reliable solution is to create a new user account for yourself (remember to make it an administrator) then move your files (documents, pictures, videos etc.) from their original locations to the appropriate folders in the new account. As mentioned, you may need to take ownership and grant yourself permissions in order to do that.


    It may sound like a lot of work, but having already 'been there and done that' I can say with some confidence that it's less work than trying to deduce then undo the damage that has been done. Also it guarantees that you end up with a perfectly normal functioning user profile.
      My Computers


  5. Posts : 1,539
       #5

    +1 to the other posters, I too recommend using the Copy operation rather than Move operation. Copy is safer, and Copy normally will not run afoul of "cannot move, file[s] in use by another process".
      My Computer

  6. Steve C's Avatar
    Posts : 6,514
    Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
       #6

    Immediately after making such a mistake, try Ctrl + Z to reverse the command which often works
      My Computers


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51.
Find Us




Windows 10 Forums