Windows 10: Reconnect a drive Solved

  1.    18 Jun 2018 #1

    Reconnect a drive


    Windows keeps telling me to reconnect a file history drive. I have no idea what drive it is talking about. I think I am getting very close to formatting drive c:
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  2. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 33,158
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 18262
       18 Jun 2018 #2

    Hello alkaufmann,

    This basically means that the drive you have selected to save your File History to is not available, and it's wanting you to connect it so it can save your File History.

    If you want to use File History, then you'll just need to connect the drive or select another available drive to stop this message.

    Select Drive for File History in Windows 10 | Windows 10 Tutorials

    If you don't want to use File History, then turning off File History will stop this.

    Turn On or Off File History in Windows 10 | Windows 10 Tutorials
      My ComputersSystem Spec

  3.    18 Jun 2018 #3

    Thanks for pointing me into the right direction, for some reason Windows was turned on to backup every so often to a SSD drive it did not like for some reason. I have a third party program to backup everything, so I know I did not turn it on. I formatted that SSD drive and turned the Windows backup off. Seems ok now, it has stopped asking for a drive to be re-connected.
      My ComputerSystem Spec

  4. Brink's Avatar
    Posts : 33,158
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro build 18262
       19 Jun 2018 #4

    Great news.
      My ComputersSystem Spec


 

Related Threads
My computer is a desktop and is always plugged in. This is a happening on a PC I got from a friend and he said this has been happening since he changed the computer's name in one of the control panel applications, he did not mention that he renamed...
130800
Notification: Reconnect your drive in Performance & Maintenance
I got this message when I turned on my computer a few minutes ago: "Reconnect your drive. Your files will be temporarily copied to your hard drive until you reconnect your file history and run a backup...also another message that says Windows...
What does "Reconnect you drive" mean? 104557 104558
Solved Reconnect your drive notification. in Performance & Maintenance
What exactly does this mean and which files are being saved/copied. Can they be deleted if they are copies, and where are they stored. This may seem a dumb question, but I would not ask if I could find the solution myself. 73233
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 10 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 10" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34.
Find Us