I don't know if it is new or not. I don't pay this kind of attention since I don't have a choice with my Win 10 home.
I just let the system do the install.
I do know I saw that message too.
Do you only get this if set to automatically install updates. I have never seen it, and my pcs are set to notify.
On the subject machine the updates were downloading and then installing automatically, the option was not offered.
This is the first time I noticed I had this choice. I could have been dense, yes. But I usually notice these things.
I do not find an option for "Automatically Install Updates" anywhere, it seems to be the default, unchangeable setting.
.................I do not find an option for "Automatically Install Updates" anywhere......................
On Windows 10 Home, Windows updates, by default, are to be installed automatically.
You don't have a choice, hence no such option is available nor needed.
The only "option" is either "Automatic (recommended)" or "Notify to schedule restart" under Advanced settings. Either case, updates will be installed automatically anyway. The only difference is, the former will begin restart once updates are installed while the latter will give you a choice of when to run the restart.
Of course, there is a tutorial to hide updates. But that's another topic.
Last edited by davidhk; 14 Feb 2016 at 10:55.
That is why I was surprised to be offered the choice to install updates later, and why I posted.
I like it, mind you, it is a welcome change if it is one. Just as I said, I never saw this option before on this W10 Home machine.
As it is loading the rest of the programs or even when idle windows 10 update will run for me to make sure I have no updates pending ready for me to do a install.
All I do if there are any is click install then it informs me I have to do a restart then or later
Once restarted it flashes up latest updates have been installed
That is how I know my systems have all the latest windows updates
Also it has been there from when I first upgraded from 8.1 which was beginning of August
It seems this (the first screenshot in post #1) is normal for most people.
I wonder why this is the first time I have seen it?
(And I may not see it again, as I have already delivered the laptop to the user)
There was no log-in or password set/required on that laptop.