Nobody has forced you to "abandon" Windows 8.1. If you yourself decided to upgrade and some software which was bought to and which have worked in Windows 8.1 no longer works, and especially if this incompatibility has been clearly told to you before the upgrade, how on earth can you think you should get your money back?
OK on my 2nd main machine which dual boot 7 Ultimate and 8.1 Pro with Media Center I downloaded the media creation install tool and ran set up from 8.1 desktop. The setup warned me Media Center would be removed. I kept files and programs and let it get on with it. About 45 mins later (it was a fully loaded OS with loads of programs) I was running 10 Pro with dual booting 7 Ultimate with nothing messed up on the dual booting side. 10 Pro was not activating but it did download a DVD player. After a couple of hours it was activated. I had looked around and could only think it was an overloaded server. My 8.1 Pro was a Full Retail version and I have been issued a Windows 10 Pro Key which product key vbs program found for future installs if needed.
The only problem I see is, if you eventually do a clean install of W10, you will have no way to get the DVD Player back - it will be lost forever.
Surely that is why you got the DVD players in 10 as a here you go. MS is no longer doing Media Center but is providing the DVD Player as compensation. That is why I chose to upgrade 8.1 rather than 7 Ultimate. That is also why three of my machines are staying put till a suitable media centre substitute that records over the air. If you accepted the terms and conditions and installed the program (10) you signed away any rights gains or losses of computer OS features.
Actually the new Windows DVD player has excellent performance. My Big Bang Theory DVD's look superb. Shame M$ don't make a Blu Ray Player (I tried the Blu Rays it was having non of it).
An upgrade from Windows 8.1 (Core) to the Insider preview only got me 10 Home. I upgraded via the Insiders page. Some of the early builds had a PID.txt file with a Pro key. If you clean installed you got Pro. Clean installs don't qualify for the free upgrade so why not let you test all the features. Latter builds would let you install Home or Pro depending on what preview key you entered on a clean install. If you did an upgrade install from a thumb drive or DVD with one of those builds with the Pro PID.txt file, that may explain why you got Pro instead of Home. Is it legal, I don't know?