One of the best reasons to use OneDrive is sharing stuff with friends, family, and colleagues. We recently took a closer look at how people are sharing via OneDrive, and today we’re launching a new experience that will make it even easier to work on a document together or share a new photo album.
Previously, when you clicked “Share,” we presented you with the option to either “Invite people” or “Get a link.” The majority of people just wanted to get a link, but that wasn’t the default choice. When you selected “Get a link,” we also offered a number of ways to customize that link and restrict access. This resulted in a lot of confusion and broken links, and most of these options were used less than 0.01% of the time. We wanted to do better.
The new experience is, in a word, simple. We show the two most popular options for sharing right up front with big blue buttons that are easy to see and easy to hit. We use terms that are understandable to a wider range of users. We optimized for the common cases and present the rarely used options in less distracting ways. Basically, it’s not as messy.
Design is important and so is evidence. To make sure the new design was doing its job, we did an A/B test with approximately 28,000 real-world users to compare its performance with the old design. As expected, the new dialog helped people more successfully share files, and resulted in more people sharing more stuff more often. Now, we’re ready to share it with you. Enjoy!
Group Program Manager, OneDrive