I have only one account setup on my laptop running Windows 10 Pro Build 10586.36. That is my Microsoft account with administrator rights. When I boot my laptop the login screen shows my Microsoft account name and a prompt for my password. If I correctly input my password, Windows proceeds to my desktop as normal. However, if I incorrectly (accidentally) mistype my password, instead of stopping and prompting an alert that the password is incorrect, Windows seems to proceed by creating a new (local?) account in the background (i.e. I see a message "preparing desktop".) It then loads the new deskop, which is exactly what I do not want. How do I stop this behaviour? If I mistype my Microsoft password at the login screen, I simply want a prompt to re-enter my password. Note that there is no local account that I myself created.