Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Posts: 16,449

Show Printable Version 


How to Add or Remove Change Network Location Context Menu in Windows 10

information   Information
A network location identifies the type of network that a PC is connected to with a network adapter.

The first time you connect to a network, you might be asked if you want to find PCs, devices, and content on the network, and automatically connect to devices like printers and TVs. Turning on this setting prepares your PC for sharing files and devices on a network. Based on the network location you choose, Windows will automatically assign a network discovery state to the network and automatically sets the appropriate Windows Firewall and security settings for the type of network that you connected to. You can change the network location anytime.

This tutorial will show you how to add a Change Network Location desktop context menu to toggle the current network connection to be private or public in Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to add, remove, and use the "Change Network Location" context menu.


EXAMPLE: "Change Network Location" desktop context menu
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Change_Network_Location_context_menu.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	72.9 KB 
ID:	106505


Here's How:

1. Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you would like to do.


 2. To Add "Change Network Location" to Desktop Context Menu

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_Change_Network_Location_to_desktop_context_menu.reg

download


 3. To Remove "Change Network Location" from Desktop Context Menu

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_Change_Network_Location_from_desktop_context_menu.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. If prompted, click on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn