Published by

Brink's Avatar

Posts: 15,692

Show Printable Version 

How to Add or Remove 'Turn on BitLocker' Context Menu from Drives in Windows 10

information   Information
You can use BitLocker Drive Encryption to help protect your files on an entire drive. BitLocker can help block hackers from accessing the system files they rely on to discover your password, or from accessing your drive by physically removing it from your PC and installing it in a different one. You can still sign in to Windows and use your files as you normally would.

BitLocker can encrypt the drive Windows is installed on (the operating system drive) as well as fixed data drives (such as internal hard drives). You can also use BitLocker To Go to help protect all files stored on a removable data drive (such as an external hard drive or USB flash drive).

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the Turn on BitLocker context menu from all fixed, OS, and removable drives for all users in Windows 10.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to add or remove the "Turn on BitLocker" context menu.

Note   Note
When you remove the Turn on BitLocker context menu, it will also gray out the BitLocker button in the Drive Tools Manage tab of the ribbon. You will still be able to turn on BitLocker for a drive from the Control Panel.

BitLocker Drive Encryption is only available in Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Enterprise, and Windows 10 Education editions.

EXAMPLE: "Turn on BitLocker" context menu
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Turn_on_BitLocker_context_menu.png 
Views:	101 
Size:	108.0 KB 
ID:	59865

Here's How:

1. Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you would like to do.

 2. To Add "Turn on BitLocker" to Context Menu of Drives

NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.



 3. To Remove "Turn on BitLocker" from Context Menu of Drives

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.



4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. If prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. You can now delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.

That's it,