Published by

Brink's Avatar

Posts: 15,584

Show Printable Version 

How to Turn On or Off Recycle Bin Delete Confirmation in Windows 10

information   Information
The Recycle Bin provides a safety net when deleting files or folders. When you delete any of these items from your hard disk, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full.

If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each location will have its own $Recycle.Bin and Recycle Bin settings. Removable drives, such as USB flash drives and memory cards, will not have a Recycle Bin. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted.

If you don't want to receive a delete confirmation dialog message each time you move a file or folder to the Recycle Bin, you can choose to not get the messages.

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off the Recycle Bin delete confirmation dialog for your account in Windows 10.

Note   Note
If you delete a file or folder that's larger than the set maximum storage size of the Recycle Bin, then you will always get a This file is too big to recycle. Do you want to permanently delete it? confirmation message like below.
Name:  Recycle_Bin_too_big_delete_confirmation.png
Views: 1234
Size:  12.9 KB

If you empty the Recycle Bin, you will always get a Are you sure you want to permanently delete...? confirmation dialog like below.
Name:  Empty_Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete_confirmation-2..png
Views: 1053
Size:  6.6 KB
Name:  Empty_Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete_confirmation..png
Views: 1108
Size:  13.4 KB

EXAMPLE: Recycle Bin delete confirmation dialog
Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation.png
Views: 1069
Size:  14.2 KB
Name:  Recycle_Bin_permanently_delete.png
Views: 1052
Size:  12.3 KB

Here's How:

1. Right click or press and hold on the Recycle Bin, and click/tap on Properties. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Recycle_Bin_context_menu.png
Views: 1063
Size:  11.7 KB

2. Select the Recycle Bin location for the drive (ex: C ) you want at the top. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation-1.png
Views: 1082
Size:  17.8 KB

3. Check (on) or uncheck (off) the Display delete confirmation dialog box for what you want, and click/tap on Apply. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Recycle_Bin_delete_confirmation-2.png
Views: 1123
Size:  18.4 KB

4. Repeat step 2 above if you have another Recycle Bin location you want to turn on or off the delete confirmation dialog for.

5. When finished, click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below step 3)

That's it,